Anwar says Pakatan needs Sarawak’s support to win majority seats in GE15

Malay Mail
Malay Mail

MIRI, Nov 1 — Pakatan Harapan (PH) chairman Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim tonight said the coalition needs the support of Sarawakians for it to win the majority parliamentary seats in the coming 15th general election (GE15).

“We are choosing the federal government that will affect all the states in the country,” he said at the Jelajah Harapan Sarawak here.

“If there are problems relating to MA63 (Malaysia Agreement 1963) that cannot be solved, it takes the leadership at the federal level to say yes, we will have to accept that Sarawak is part of this country and do whatever it takes to make sure we elevate Sarawak,” he said.

He said there is no point in shouting the slogans Sarawak for Sarawakians or Sabah for Sabahans.

“Only when you control the federal government can you dictate the policy that is just and fair to all Malaysians.

“The poor in Sarawak and Sabah have suffered long enough. I am a Malay from Penang and it is my solemn duty to protect the interest of everybody including the poor Sarawakians,” he added.

Anwar, who is also PKR president, urged the state PKR candidates contesting in GE15 to work harder and get people to vote.

He also urged the candidates to get those residing outside their areas to come back and vote.

“Based on a survey in peninsular Malaysia, the mood of the people supporting PH is very good.

“I believe if the mood keeps on rising, we can overtake our performance in the 2018 general election,” he said.

Earlier he announced the names of the 16 candidates who will contest on the Harapan logo in GE15.

Incumbent Miri Member of Parliament Dr Michael Teo has been dropped and he will be replaced by state PKR Youth chief Chiew Choon Man.

State PKR chairman Roland Engan will contest in Baram while the deputy chairman Abun Sui Anyit will stand in Hulu Rajang.

The other candidates are Sapian Julaihi (Petra Jaya), Diog Dios (Puncak Borneo), Tay Wei Wei (Sri Aman), Langga Lias (Lubok Antu), Patrick Kamis (Betong), Ibil Jaya (Saratok), Mohammed Fauzi Abdullah (Kanowit), Abdul Jalil Bujang (Mukah), Umpang Sabang (Selangau), Khuyaisry Pangkas Abdullah (Kapit), Zolhaidah Suboh (Sibuti), Racha Balang (Limbang) and Japar Suyut (Lawas)