Wimbledon bans Russian, Belarusian tennis players

STORY: Wimbledon confirmed Wednesday it will not welcome tennis players from Russia or Belarus this year - banning the athletes over Moscow's invasion of Ukraine.

That means men's world number two Daniil Medvedev, the Russian and reigning champion of the U.S. Open, will not be able to compete on the famous grass courts.

The Grand Slam’s organizers - All England Lawn Tennis Club – said in a Wednesday statement (quote):

“In the circumstances of such unjustified and unprecedented military aggression, it would be unacceptable for the Russian regime to derive any benefits from the involvement of Russian or Belarusian players with The Championships."

Along with Medvedev… Andrey Rublev, ranked eighth in the world, will miss out.

Women's world number four Aryna Sabalenka and two-times Grand Slam champion Victoria Azarenka of Belarus also will be affected.

It's a change of course for Wimbledon.

The illustrious event has not banned athletes from specific countries since after World War Two, when players from Germany and Japan were not allowed to compete.

The Kremlin blasted the move- calling the ban unacceptable.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting