What time are the local and mayoral election results announced?

Rishi Sunak is bracing for another tough day after big losses.

Labour leader Sir Keir Starmer celebrating at Blackpool Cricket Club after Chris Webb was declared winner in the Blackpool South by-election. The by-election was triggered after the resignation of Scott Benton. Picture date: Friday May 3, 2024.
Labour leader Sir Keir Starmer celebrating by-election victory in the Blackpool South by-election. (PA)

Rishi Sunak is bracing for another tough day after initial local election results saw the Conservatives lose across the country, despite his party managing to cling onto the Tees Valley mayor.

On Friday, Keir Starmer hailed a "seismic" win in the Blackpool South by-election, where the party secured a 26.33% swing, Labour was also picking up council wins across the country.

The elections are being viewed as a test of Sunak's leadership. His party is languishing behind in the polls and his personal ratings are significantly behind Starmer's.

On Friday morning, the Conservative Party chairman appealed to Tory MPs to “wait through the weekend”, insisting Sunak is “the right man” to lead the party.

Key mayoral results coming up on Saturday include the results of the London mayoral race, in which Labour's Sadiq Khan is defending his seat against the Conservatives' Susan Hall - with polling suggesting it could be a close race.

Of the 2,636 councillor elections across 107 English councils, Labour and the Conservatives were each defending around 1,000 seats.

And with 102 of 107 councils called already, the Tories have suffered a big blow.

Every council taking part in the election will reveal their results when all their votes are counted. There is no uniform time when every result comes in. Most were announced on Friday 3 May, with the full count expected to be finished by Sunday.

The winners of the London Assembly and Manchester Council will be announced on Saturday afternoon.

Where this year's local elections are taking place. (PA)
Where this year's local elections are taking place. (PA)

11 mayors are being elected across England this year, with the big ones in London, Manchester and the West Midlands.

Several of the regions are electing their first-ever mayor after the government vastly expanded the scheme in recent years. They are: East Midlands, York and North Yorkshire and North East.

Here are the announcements that have already been announced as of 4pm on Saturday:

  • Tees Valley, Conservative Ben Houchen reelected

  • York and North Yorkshire, Labour David Skaith elected

  • North-east, Labour Kim McGuiness elected

  • East Midlands, Labour Claire Ward elected

  • South Yorkshire - Labour Oliver Coppard reelected

  • Liverpool - Labour Steve Rotheram reelected

  • West Yorkshire - Labour Tracy Brabin reelected

  • Greater Manchester - Labour Andy Burnham reelected

  • London - Labour Sadiq Khan reelected

  • Salford - Labour Paul Dennett reelected

Here are when the remaining mayoral results are expected:

  • West Midlands - Saturday afternoon

Fourteen London constituencies will also be announced, along with the London-wide top-up list that will elect another 11 assembly members.

Eight more police and crime commissioners will also be known.

On Sunday, the final council of 107, Salford, will declare, along with the final PCCs, Sussex and Kent.

The mayoral elections taking place today. (PA)
The mayoral elections taking place today. (PA)

Here are the declaration times for the local, mayoral and police & crime commissioner elections that took place in England and Wales on May 2.


– 12.30am (May 3) Broxbourne

– 1.30am Hartlepool, Rochford, Sunderland

– 2am Bolton, Gosport, Ipswich, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, North East Lincolnshire, South Tyneside, Wigan

– 2.30am Chorley, Eastleigh, Fareham, Hart, Oldham, Portsmouth, Rushmoor, Southend-on-Sea

– 2.45am Exeter

– 3am Harlow, Kingston-upon-Hull, Lincoln, Sefton, Tameside, Thurrock

– 3.15am Reading

– 3.30am Colchester, Gateshead, Redditch, Stockport

– 4am Peterborough, Plymouth

– 4.30am Southampton

– 5.30am Winchester

Police & crime commissioners:

– 1.30am Cumbria

– 2.30am Avon & Somerset

– 3am Lincolnshire


– 11am Norwich

– 12pm Blackburn with Darwen, Walsall

– 12.30pm Castle Point, Havant

– 1pm Cannock Chase, Manchester, Watford, Welwyn Hatfield

– 1.30pm Burnley, Preston, Sheffield, West Oxfordshire

– 2pm Basildon, Brentwood, Hyndburn, Knowsley, Nuneaton & Bedworth, Rossendale

– 2.30pm Crawley, Rochdale, Solihull

– 3pm Barnsley, Hastings, Kirklees, Maidstone, Rotherham, Three Rivers

– 3.30pm Halton, Milton Keynes, Sandwell, Trafford

– 4pm Adur, Bury, Calderdale, Cheltenham, Epping Forest, Pendle, St Albans, Swindon, Tunbridge Wells, Woking, Wokingham

– 4.30pm Dudley, Leeds, Wakefield

– 5pm Basingstoke & Deane, Bradford, Cambridge, Coventry, Oxford, Runnymede, Tandridge, Worthing

– 5.30pm Rugby, Wolverhampton, Worcester

– 5.45pm Cherwell

– 6pm Mole Valley, North Hertfordshire, Reigate & Banstead, Stevenage, Tamworth

– 6.30pm Bristol, Elmbridge

– 7pm Dorset

– 8pm West Lancashire

– 10pm Gloucester


– 12pm North East

– 12.30pm Tees Valley

– 2.30pm East Midlands

– 3pm York & North Yorkshire

Police & crime commissioners:

– 1pm Gwent, North Wales

– 1.30pm Humberside

– 2pm Cambridgeshire & Peterborough, Hampshire, Suffolk

– 3pm Bedfordshire, Devon & Cornwall, Dyfed-Powys, Norfolk, Surrey

– 3.30pm Leicestershire

– 4pm Essex, Lancashire, Northamptonshire, South Wales, Staffordshire

– 4.30pm Northumbria

– 5pm Cleveland, Durham, Gloucestershire, Nottinghamshire

– 6pm Derbyshire, West Mercia

3. Saturday May 4


– 4pm North Tyneside, Stroud, Warrington


– 12pm Liverpool City Region

– 1.30pm London*

– 2pm South Yorkshire

– 3pm West Midlands

– 3.15pm West Yorkshire

– 4pm Greater Manchester

– 5pm Salford

*The local constituency results of the London mayoral election will be declared first, at each of the 14 counts across the capital. A formal announcement of the overall result will be made at City Hall later in the day. 1.30pm is an estimate of when the overall result is likely to have become clear from the constituency results, and is not an estimate of the time of the formal announcement at City Hall.

Police & crime commissioners:

– 12pm Hertfordshire

– 2pm Thames Valley

– 2.30pm Warwickshire, West Midlands

– 3pm Cheshire, Dorset

– 3.30pm Merseyside

– 4pm Wiltshire

4. Sunday May 5


– 3pm Salford

Police & crime commissioners:

– 3.30pm Sussex

– 4pm Kent

Results called on Saturday 4 May


- 12.30 - Liverpool

- 1.00 - South Yorkshire


- 1.00 - Epping Forest