U.S. Open purse, payouts: How much did Bryson DeChambeau earn after his win at Pinehurst?

The U.S. Open offered a record $21.5 million purse this year in North Carolina

He nearly watched it slip away, but Bryson DeChambeau is now a two-time U.S. Open champion.

DeChambeau, after losing a three-shot lead he built up to start the day, fended off Rory McIlroy to win the U.S. Open on Sunday afternoon at Pinehurst No. 2 in North Carolina. The win marked his second career major title, and his first since he won the U.S. Open in 2020.

As a result, DeChambeau is taking home a massive $4.3 million check.

The U.S. Open offered a record $21.5 million purse this year, which marked the largest ever put up in a men’s major championship in history. That’s a $1.5 million increase from last season, and $1.5 million more than the Masters offered earlier this year.

By comparison, the $21.5 million purse is larger than all but one event on the PGA Tour this year. Only The Players Championship surpassed that mark when it had a $25 million prize pool in March. Scottie Scheffler earned $4.5 million for his win there. The PGA Championship offered an $18.5 million purse last month, which gave Xander Schauffele $3.3 million for his win.

While the top four finishers will all take home seven figures, everyone inside the top 10 this week at Pinehurst will earn at least $500,000. And, as an added bonus, those who missed the cut still earned $10,000.

Here’s a look at how much everyone at the U.S. Open earned this week in North Carolina.

Bryson DeChambeau fended off Rory McIlroy down the stretch to claim his second U.S. Open title on Sunday afternoon.
Bryson DeChambeau fended off Rory McIlroy down the stretch to claim his second U.S. Open title on Sunday afternoon. (Gregory Shamus/Getty Images)

1. Bryson DeChambeau — $4.3 million

2. Rory McIlroy — $2.322 million

T3. Tony Finau, Patrick Cantlay— $1.229 million

5. Matthieu Pavon — $843,765

6. Hideki Matsuyama — $748,154

T7. Russell Henley, Xander Schauffele — $639,288

T9. Sam Burns, Davis Thompson, Corey Conners — $502,391

T12. Sergio Garcia, Ludvig Åberg — $409,279

T14. Thomas Detry, Collin Morikawa — $351,580

T16. Tommy Fleetwood, Akshay Bhatia, Taylor Pendrith — $299,218

T19. Shane Lowry, Aaron Rai — $255,758

T21. Daniel Berger, Max Greyserman, Min Woo Lee, Stephan Jaeger, Brian Harman — $203,607

T26. Brooks Koepka, Zac Blair, Chris Kirk, Tom Kim, Tyrrell Hatton — $153,281

T32. Adam Scott, Si Woo Kim, Sahith Theegala, Keegan Bradley, Isaiah Salinda, Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Cam Smith, J.T. Poston, Denny McCarthy — $110,894

T41. Frankie Capan III, Harris English, Jordan Spieth, Scottie Scheffler, Tom McKibbin, Tim Widing, Emiliano Grillo, Billy Horschel — $72,305

T50. Justin Lower, Matt Kuchar, Nicolai Højgaard, Mark Hubbard — $51,065

54. Nico Echavarria — $47,370

55. David Puig — $46,501

T56. Seonghyeon Kim, Ben Kohles, Ryan Fox, Sepp Straka, Greyson Sigg, Brian Campbell, Adam Svensson, Wyndham Clark — $44,546

T64. Matthew Fitzpatrick, Francesco Molinari, Martin Kaymer — $42,155

T67. Cameron Young, Brendon Todd — $41,069

69. Dean Burmester — $40,417

T70. Brandon Wu — $39,982

72. Sam Bennett — $39,548

73. Jackson Suber — $39,113

74. Austin Eckroat — $38,678

Those who missed the cut earned $10,000 each.

*Amateurs Neal Shipley, Luke Clanton, Gunnar Broin all made the cut but aren't allowed to earn cash prizes by rule