Umno Youth chief says unity govt not dominated by non-Muslim MPs

Malay Mail
Malay Mail

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 30 — Umno Youth chief Datuk Seri Asyraf Wajdi Dusuki today denied claims that the current unity government consisting of Barisan Nasional (BN), Pakatan Harapan (PH) and Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) as main components are dominated by non-Muslims.

He said there are 68 out of 135 lawmakers in the three main components represented in the unity government making the Malay-Muslim MPs the majority ethnicity.

“Therefore, if the unity government of Malaysia takes into account the three main parties PH, BN and GPS only, Bumiputera Muslim MPs are the largest, which is 68 people,” he said in a statement on his Facebook page today.

He also added that Warisan and Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS) contributed another six Malay-Muslim lawmakers to the list out of nine seats that were won in the last general election (GE15).

“So the total Muslim Bumiputera-Malay Members of Parliament in the Malaysian Unity Government are 74 people, which is the highest and the majority,” he added.

Previously, former PAS turned BN Kuala Nerus lawmaker Datuk Mohd Khairuddin Aman Razali has backed the unity government led by PH chairman Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim by saying that Malay-Muslim lawmakers are the dominant force.

Previously, Perikatan Nasional deputy chairman Tan Sri Abdul Hadi Awang claimed in a statement that DAP was being extreme when it tried to deceive by presenting members, candidates and leaders from Malay Muslim faces but could not legitimise its ideology which contradicted Islam.

The Marang lawmaker also claimed that DAP was spreading Islamophobia against non-Muslim Bumiputeras even though the party’s leaders had apologised for past mistakes.