Umno awaits internal election results with Wan Rosdy, Khaled, Johari leading veep race

Malay Mail
Malay Mail

KUALA LUMPUR, March 18 — The results for the top posts from Umno internal election are due tonight, and several key figures are leading the race for its three vice president spots.

At the time of writing, Pahang Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail, Minister of Higher Education Datuk Seri Khaled Nordin and Titiwangsa MP Datuk Seri Johari Abdul Ghani are leading the race for the third most powerful posts in the party.

Wan Rosdy has 44 votes, Khaled 39, while Johari has 28 votes.

The trio is closely followed by de facto law minister Datuk Seri Azalina Othman with 22 votes, and former housing and local government minister Datuk Seri Reezal Merican Naina Merican.

The other contestants vying for the coveted roles are former Johor menteri besar Datuk Hasni Mohamad (13 votes), and former rural development minister Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid (eight votes).

Mohd Yusof Musa, a relatively unknown member from the party’s Iskandar Puteri Division, has zero vote.

Unofficial results are expected by 10.30pm.

Some 95 individuals are also eligible to contest the Supreme Council member posts, including party’s secretary-general Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan, Jelebu MP Datuk Seri Jalaluddin Alias, Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Zambry Abd Kadir and International Trade and Industry Minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz.

Previously, Merlimau assemblyman Dr Muhamad Akmal Saleh won the Umno Youth chief post defeating three other candidates.

Meanwhile, Datuk Seri Noraini Ahmad managed to defend her post as Wanita chief against the previously retired Tan Sri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil.

Datuk Nurul Amal Mohd Fauzi, formerly the Puteri deputy chief, is now leading the wing.