Advertisement

UFC 298 time: When does Volkanovski vs Topuria start in UK and US tonight?

UFC 298 takes place this evening, with Alexander Volkanovski defending his featherweight title against Ilia Topuria in the main event.

Volkanovski beat Yair Rodriguez in July for a fifth successful title defence, but he suffered defeats by Islam Makhachev either side of that stoppage victory.

Follow LIVE: UFC 298 fight updates and results tonight

See all The Independent’s UFC 298 betting tips

While challenging for the lightweight title, Volkanovski was outpointed by Makhachev in February and knocked out in round one in October. Given the brutal nature of that second result, when Volkanovski stepped in on late notice, some fans fear for the Australian as he prepares to face Topuria.

The unbeaten Topuria, 27, is eight years younger than Volkanovski and has 12 finishes from 14 wins. The Georgian, who fights out of Spain, has a well-rounded game and seemingly the power to threaten the champion.

Here’s all you need to know. We may earn commission from some of the links in this article, but we never allow this to influence our content. This revenue helps to fund journalism across The Independent.

When is UFC 298?

UFC 298 is due to take place on Saturday 17 February at the Honda Center in Anaheim, California.

The early prelims are set to begin at 11pm GMT (4pm PT, 6pm CT, 7pm ET), with the regular prelims following at 1am GMT on Sunday 18 February (6pm PT, 8pm CT, 9pm ET on Saturday). The main card is then due to start at 3am GMT on Sunday (8pm PT, 10pm CT, 11pm ET on Saturday).

How can I watch it?

In the UK, UFC 298 will air live on TNT Sports, with the broadcaster’s app and website also streaming the fights. In the US, ESPN+ will stream the action live. UFC Fight Pass will also stream the early prelims and regular prelims.

If you’re travelling abroad and want to watch the event, you might need a VPN to unblock your streaming app. Our VPN round-up is here to help and includes deals on VPNs in the market. Viewers using a VPN need to make sure that they comply with any local regulations where they are and also with the terms of their service provider.

Odds

Volkanovski unified the UFC featherweight titles by beating Yair Rodriguez (Getty Images)
Volkanovski unified the UFC featherweight titles by beating Yair Rodriguez (Getty Images)

Volkanovski – 5/6

Topuria – 20/21

Via Betway.

See all The Independent’s UFC 298 betting tips

Full card (subject to change)

Main card

Alexander Volkanovski (C) vs Ilia Topuria (featherweight title)

Robert Whittaker vs Paul Costa (middleweight)

Geoff Neal vs Ian Machado Garry (welterweight)

Merab Dvalishvili vs Henry Cejudo (bantamweight)

Anthony Hernandez vs Roman Kopylov (middleweight)

Ilia Topuria is 14-0 with 12 stoppage wins (Getty Images)
Ilia Topuria is 14-0 with 12 stoppage wins (Getty Images)

Prelims

Amanda Lemos vs Mackenzie Dern (women’s strawweight)

Marcos Rogerio de Lima vs Junior Tafa (heavyweight)

Rinya Nakamura vs Carlos Vera (bantamweight)

Zhang Mingyang vs Brendson Ribeiro (light-heavyweight)

Early prelims

Yusaku Kinoshita vs Danny Barlow (welterweight)

Oban Elliot vs Val Woodburn (welterweight)

Andrea Lee vs Miranda Maverick (women’s flyweight)