What Time Does ‘Lord of the Rings’ Come Out on Amazon Prime Video?

·3-min read

Amazon’s epic “Lord of the Rings” TV series is here, and it’s dropping sooner than you expect.

“The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power” marks Amazon’s massive investment into J.R.R. Tolkien’s fantasy universe, presenting a story set thousands of years before the events of “Lord of the Rings” that finds Middle-earth in a time of prosperity. But that peace doesn’t last long, as the story kicks into gear after Sauron’s first rise to power, and as the elven warrior Galadriel (Morfydd Clark) is determined to track him down before he can wreak havoc again.

But what time can you watch the “Lord of the Rings” show on Amazon Prime Video? While the series technically drops worldwide on Friday, Sept. 2, you can actually watch the first two episodes on Thursday, Sept. 1 in the United States.

Indeed, those in the U.S. can watch “The Rings of Power” at 6 p.m. PT or 9 p.m. ET on September 1. That means you should be ready to fire up Prime Video Thursday evening to finally catch a glimpse of the show’s first two full episodes.

Also Read:
‘The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power’ Cast and Character Guide: Who’s Who in the New Show? (Photos)

Subsequent new episodes will then drop weekly on Thursdays on the west coast (9 p.m. PT) or early Friday morning on the east coast (12 a.m. ET).

Prime Video is releasing the first two hourlong episodes of “Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power” on Sept. 1/Sept. 2, and you can find out what time you can watch these episodes in each time zone (the show is releasing worldwide in 240 countries) below.

  • 6 p.m. PDT // Thursday, September 1

  • 9 p.m. EDT // Thursday, September 1

  • 2 a.m. UK // Friday, September 2

  • 3 a.m. CEST // Friday, September 2

  • 6:30 a.m. IST // Friday, September 2

  • 10 a.m. JST // Friday, September 2

  • 11 a.m. AU // Friday, September 2

  • 1 p.m. NZ // Friday, September 2

Prime Video’s “The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power” brings to screens for the very first time the heroic legends of the fabled Second Age of Middle-earth’s history. This epic drama is set thousands of years before the events of J.R.R. Tolkien’s “The Hobbit” and “The Lord of the Rings,” and will take viewers back to an era in which great powers were forged, kingdoms rose to glory and fell to ruin, unlikely heroes were tested, hope hung by the finest of threads, and one of the greatest villains that ever flowed from Tolkien’s pen threatened to cover all the world in darkness. Beginning in a time of relative peace, the series follows an ensemble cast of characters, both familiar and new, as they confront the long-feared reemergence of evil to Middle-earth. From the darkest depths of the Misty Mountains, to the majestic forests of the elf-capital of Lindon, to the breathtaking island kingdom of Númenor, to the farthest reaches of the map, these kingdoms and characters will carve out legacies that live on long after they are gone.

Also Read:
‘The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power’ Review: Prime Video’s Stunningly Epic Series Is Awe-Inspiring