Sum 41 to split up after farewell world tour: ‘Thank you’

Sum 41 (Getty Images)
Sum 41 (Getty Images)

Canadian rock band Sum 41 will be splitting up after their farewell tour, the band have announced.

The five-piece group comprised of Deryck Whibley, Dave Baksh, Jason “Cone” McCaslin, Tom Thacker, and Frank Zummo, announced the news on Twitter on Monday (8 May).

“Being in Sum 41 since 1996 brought us some of the best moments of our lives,” the post said. “We are forever grateful to our fans both old and new, who have supported us in every way.”

It continued: “It is hard to articulate the love and respect we have for all of you and we wanted you to hear it from us first.

“Sum 41 will be disbanding. We will still be finishing all of our current upcoming tour dates this year, and we are looking forward to releasing our final album Heaven :x: Hell, along with a final worldwide headling tour to celebrate.

“For now, we look forward to seeing all of you skumf***s on the road and are excited for what the future will bring for each of us,” they added. “Thank you for the last 27 years of Sum 41.”

More reporting to come