Rosario Dawson, Jesse Williams Among Recipients Of Tribeca Festival’s Harry Belafonte Voices For Social Justice Award

Angela Davis, American political activist, scholar, and author, presented Tribeca Festival’s fourth annual Harry Belafonte Voices for Social Justice Award to Rosario Dawson, Jesse Williams, Aloe Blacc, aja monet, Matt Post, Carmen Perez-Jordan, RodStarz and Sean Pica.

Named after the entertainer, actor, and civil rights leader, the Harry Belafonte Voices for Social Justice Award recognizes individuals who have used storytelling and the arts to enact change in their communities.

More from Deadline

The award ceremony took place following the World Premiere screening of documentary Following Harry, directed and edited by Susanne Rostock (Sing Your Song). The film was followed by a panel discussion, moderated by Davis, with the award winners and filmmakers.

Following Harry begins with Harry Belafonte at the age of 84, embarking on a deeply personal journey, disrupting injustice over the next ten years by passionately encouraging a diverse group of entertainers and activists to overcome soaring national unrest and anger by believing that love has the power to redirect oppression into oblivion. Featuring moments with Rosario Dawson, Jesse Williams, Aloe Blacc, aja monet, Matt Post, Carmen Perez-Jordan, RodStarz, Sean Pica, Angela Davis, Phillip Agnew, Jamie Foxx, Chuck D, Talib Kweli, among others, the film encourages today’s youth to use their strength to meet complex social issues with love, compassion, and a fierce determination to stand for justice.

Said Rostock, “With his uniquely postmodern twist on history and his commitment to building a new world, it was exhilarating to witness Harry go beyond accepting that the past is doomed to be repeated by those who do not understand it, to ask: If we cannot position ourselves to see and translate history through our own present day experience, then how can we envision the future that we are rushing so quickly to embrace?”

Following Harry is produced by Frankie Nasso, Edward Zeng, and Rostock, and executive produced by Harry Belafonte, Pamela Belafonte, Jeff Kranzdorf, Karol Martesko-Fenster, and co-produced by Douglas Dicconson.

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.