Report: Pakatan reps to join Melaka exco led by new CM Rauf Yusoh

Malay Mail
Malay Mail

KUALA LUMPUR, April 2 — The Melaka state executive council (exco) is expected to undergo some changes now that Datuk Seri Ab Rauf Yusoh is chief minister replacing Datuk Seri Sulaiman Md Ali.

Citing Deputy Prime Minister and Umno president Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Mingguan Malaysia today reported that two exco members from Sulaiman’s administration are likely to be dropped to make way for representatives from Pakatan Harapan (PH) in a move to reflect the federal “unity government” under Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

“Even though we know that in Melaka Umno and BN obtained three-quarters of the majority voice in the state, wouldn’t it be good if the Melaka government could reflect the togetherness and sharing of power as the unity government at the federal level?” Ahmad Zahid was quoted telling reporters in the Bagan Datuk Umno complex in Bagan Datuk, Perak last night.

According to the Malay weekly, the two Melaka exco members who will be replaced are Rembia assemblyman Datuk Muhammad Jailani Khamis and Serkam assemblyman Datuk Zaidi Attan; both of whom are from Umno.

Muhammad Jailani, the former state tourism, heritage and culture committee chairman was reported to have been the only executive councillor to voice open disapproval of Ab Rauf's appointment, calling the latter a “backdoor chief minister”.

According to the newspaper, Zaidi who was previously the state housing, local government and environment committee chairman will be dropped from the state exco line-up as he is no longer an Umno division head after losing in the party’s recent internal election.

The weekend edition of Utusan Malaysia reported that seven of the previous exco members from the Sulaiman state administration are expected to be retained under Ab Rauf. They are: Datuk Rahmad Mariman (Ayer Molek); Datuk Abdul Razak Abdul Rahman (Telok Mas); VP Shanmugam (Gadek); Datuk Kalsom Nordin (Pengkalan Batu); Dr. Muhamad Akmal Saleh (Merlimau); Datuk Rais Yasin (Paya Rumput); and Ngwe Hee Sem (Machap Jaya).

The newspaper did not name the PH reps who would join the new Melaka exco line-up.