Report: Anwar meeting Agong to discuss appointments of deputy ministers

Malay Mail
Malay Mail

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 9 — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is said to be meeting the Yang di-Pertuan Agong today to hand in his list of deputy ministers.

Quoting sources, Berita Harian reported that there will be one deputy per ministry except for a select few portfolios.

The finance, environment and climate change and rural and regional ministries may have two deputies according to the report.

Among the names put forth by Pakatan Harapan are Teo Nie Ching; Liew Chin Tong (Iskandar Puteri), Steven Sim (Bukit Mertajam), Sim Tze Tzin (Bayan Baru) Balik Pulau MPs Muhammad Bakhtiar Wan Chik

Candidates from Barisan Nasional are Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan, Datuk Mohamad Alamin (Kimanis), Datuk Mohd Shahar Abdullah (Paya Besar), Datuk Seri Abdul Rahman Mohamad (Lipis), Datuk Seri Jalaluddin Alias (Jelebu) as well as Tanjung Piai MP Datuk Seri Wee Jeck Seng.

“Discussions will be held with the prime minister on whose the best suited for each portfolio. The process has started and will likely end by next week,” the source told Berita Harian.

Anwar Ibrahim appointed 28 ministers to his new unity government on December 3, 2022.