Recording Academy Elects New Members of 2022-23 Board of Trustees

·2-min read

The Recording Academy has elected 19 new leaders to its 2022-23 national board of trustees. Effective today, the newly elected trustees join the Academy’s midterm trustees, including national officers Tammy Hurt (chair), Rico Love (vice chair), Om’Mas Keith (secretary/treasurer), and Christine Albert (chair emeritus). According to the announcement, in partnership with CEO Harvey Mason Jr., the Board of Trustees strategically guides and shapes the mission and policies of the Academy and its commitment to promote diversity, equity and inclusion, fight for creators’ rights, protect music people in need, preserve music’s history, and invest in its future.


More from Variety

Yolanda Adams*

Ferddy Calderon

David Gross

Mike Knobloch*

Chuck Ainlay*

Alex E. Chávez*

Jordan Hamlin*

John Legend*

Cheche Alara

Dave Cobb

Jennifer Hanson

Rico Love

Christine Albert

Beth Cohen

David “Swagg” Harris

Susan Marshall

Maria Elisa Ayerbe

Samantha Cox

Tammy Hurt

Julia Michels

Nabil Ayers*

Doug Emery*

J. Ivy

PJ Morton*

Larry Batiste

Anna Frick

Terry Jones*

Natalia Ramírez*

Marcus Baylor

EJ Gaines*

Andrew Joslyn*

Michael Romanowski*

Jennifer Blakeman*

Kennard Garrett

Om’Mas Keith

Von Vargas*

Evan Bogart

Tracy Gershon

Thom “TK” Kidd*

Gebre Waddell*

Bun B

Chelsey Green*

Angélique Kidjo

*Identifies Trustees elected this year to their 1st or 2nd term.

“I’m honored and excited to welcome this diverse and accomplished group of creatives to the Academy’s leadership team,” said Mason. “These newly elected leaders will be instrumental in continuing the Academy’s transformation by serving as representatives for their peers on all things from refining the Grammy Awards process, to advocating for creators’ rights and beyond. We thank the Academy members who participated in this year’s elections and look forward to the continued progress that this esteemed group of Trustees will achieve.”

Each year, the Academy’s 12 chapters’ voting and professional members vote in their respective Chapter Board Elections to elect their chapter’s governors. Of the Trustees that serve on the National Board, eight are elected by voting and professional members of the Academy (four each year) and 30 are elected by the chapter boards (15 each year). The remaining four seats are comprised of the national trustee officers serving the roles of chair, vice chair, secretary/treasurer, and chair emeritus, who are currently midterm, and are elected by the board of trustees once every two years. All positions on the board of trustees are subject to two, two-year term limits.

For the full list of the Academy’s board of trustees, chapter officers and Academy bylaws, click here.


Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Click here to read the full article.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting