Rafizi: PKR sets aside three parliamentary seats for electoral pact with Muda/PSM

Malay Mail
Malay Mail

AMPANG, Oct 28 — PKR has allocated three seats for its electoral pact with the Malaysian United Democratic Alliance (Muda) and Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) in preparation for its possible confirmation, said elections director Rafizi Ramli.

He said the three seats are Sungai Siput, Tapah and Sembrong.

“We are currently engaged in negotiations, and it will most probably be finalised in the next one or two days.

“So we can’t announce it now because it depends on the outcome of the negotiations for the electoral pact,” he told reporters after PKR officially announced its peninsular Malaysia candidates for the general election (GE15) at a rally here tonight.

The incumbent Sungai Siput MP is PKR’s S. Kesavan, who won the seat after PKR and PSM failed to reach an agreement in 2018.

In 2008, current PSM president Dr Michael Jeyakumar won under a PKR ticket against former MIC chief Tun Samy Vellu. He managed to retain the seat in 2013.

Tapah, meanwhile, is currently held by MIC deputy president Datuk Seri M. Saravanan.

Sembrong is the current seat of Barisan Nasional treasurer and former Umno vice-president Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein.

In his speech, Rafizi, who is also PKR deputy president, reminded all candidates that the hard work starts tomorrow.

“Tomorrow, you have to go down to see the people and machinery.

“We will kick off the nationwide mega campaign for the election starting tomorrow,” he added.