‘The Office’: New Greg Daniels & Michael Koman Series Gets Peacock Series Order, Reveals Setting

Peacock has officially ordered the Untitled Greg Daniels and Michael Koman comedy mockumentary series set in the same universe as The Office. Domhnall Gleeson (About Time, Ex-Machina) and Sabrina Impacciatore (The White Lotus) will lead the ensemble cast of the show, which is set to begin production in July.

The announcement provides the first official details about the premise of the offshoot. The new Universal Television-produced series will see “the documentary crew that immortalized Dunder Mifflin’s Scranton branch is in search of a new subject when they discover a dying historic Midwestern newspaper and the publisher trying to revive it with volunteer reporters,” Peacock’s release reveals.

More from Deadline

As Deadline revealed exclusively in January, Daniels opened up a development room to explore ideas for a follow-up series to the Emmy-winning The Office. The new project is not a reboot. To date, the small group of Daniels’ most trusted writers have penned multiple episodes for the first seasons, we hear, as casting continues with a focus on the office staff and potentially one more series lead.

“It’s been more than ten years since the final episode of The Office aired on NBC, and the acclaimed comedy series continues to gain popularity and build new generations of fans on Peacock,” Lisa Katz, President, Scripted Content, NBCUniversal Entertainment said in a statement, “In partnership with Universal Television and led by the creative team of Greg Daniels and Michael Koman, this new series set in the universe of Dunder Mifflin introduces a new cast of characters in a fresh setting ripe for comedic storytelling: a daily newspaper.”

Daniels adapted NBC‘s The Office for American audiences based on the hit BBC series of the same name from Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant. The series premiered in 2005 with an ensemble cast that includes Carell, John Krasinski, Rainn Wilson, B.J. Novak, Jenna Fischer, Mindy Kaling, Leslie David Baker, Melora Hardin, Kate Flannery, Brian Baumgartner, Ed Helms, Oscar Nuñez and Craig Robinson. The show ran for 9 seasons before concluding in 2013, with James Spader taking over as lead following Carell’s departure in Season 7.

The Untitled Daniels/Koman comedy series is executive produced by Daniels and Koman along with Ricky Gervais, Stephen Merchant, Howard Klein, Ben Silverman and Banijay Americas (formerly Reveille).

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.