Novak Djokovic beats Casper Ruud to claim ATP Finals crown and tie Roger Federer’s record

Novak Djokovic beat Casper Ruud in straight sets on Sunday to claim his sixth ATP Finals crown, tying Roger Federer’s record at the year-end competition.

Djokovic was a 7-5, 6-3 winner in Turin in his second jubilant moment of the week, after finding out on Tuesday that he will be able to compete at January’s Australian Open, having been deported from Melbourne at the start of this year.

Djokovic first took home the ATP Finals trophy in 2008, before winning it four years in a row between 2012 and 2015.

The Serb’s 2012, 2014 and 2015 titles all came with victories over Federer, who was forced to hand Djokovic a walkover in 2014 due to injury.

Meanwhile, Djokovic was a runner-up in 2016 and 2018, but he was again victorious at the year-end event on Sunday (20 November) as he saw off world No 4 Ruud.

More follows...