Nobel Prize for Physics goes to climate trio

Three scientists won the Nobel Prize for Physics on Tuesday (October 5) for their groundbreaking work around climate change.

Japanese-born American Syukuro Manabe, Germany's Klaus Hasselmann, and Italy's Giorgio Parisi were this year's award winners.

The decision was praised by the U.N. weather agency as a sign of a consensus forming around man-made global warming.

One half of the $1.15 million prize goes in equal parts to Manabe and Hasselmann.

The Academy said Princeton University's Manabe had laid the foundation in the 1960s for today's understanding of Earth's climate.

It also recognized that Hasselman had developed models which helped prove mankind's carbon dioxide emissions caused rising temperatures in the atmosphere.

On winning his award, Hasselman said he was happy to see younger generations being so aware of climate change.

"I think it is really important that the youth is also getting involved and is using this way to make the public aware of the problem. I am really happy that it isn't just the old but that the young are spreading the message."

Parisi takes the other half of the prize money for his discovery in the 1980s of so-called "hidden rules."

They are behind seemingly random movements and swirls in gases or liquids which can also be applied to other aspects of science.

"Climate change is an enormous danger for humanity, now it is extremely important that governments act and react assertively, and as fast as they can."

Like last year, there will be no traditional banquet in Sweden due to the global health crisis.

The laureates will instead receive their medals and diplomas in their home countries.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting