Nobel Prize in literature goes to Abdulrazak Gurnah

The Swedish Academy says that Gurnah's work shows "uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee, in the gulf between cultures and continents."

The prize is awarded by the Swedish Academy and is worth $1.14 million.

Past winners have primarily been novelists such as Ernest Hemingway, Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Toni Morrison, poets such as Pablo Neruda, Joseph Brodsky and Rabindranath Tagore, or playwrights such as Harold Pinter and Eugene O'Neill.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting