Nathan Lane, George Takei, ‘Fellow Travelers’ & ‘RuPaul’s Drag Race’ Among Honorees For Inaugural Critics Choice Celebration Of LGBTQ+ Cinema & Television

A wide-ranging list of honorees was announced today for the Critics Choice Association’s inaugural Celebration Of LGBTQ+ Cinema & Television, which will take place during Pride Month on Friday June 7, at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles. The event will stream later on HereTV, the first and largest LGBTQ+ TV and streaming service in the U.S. Actress, writer and comedian Sherry Cola (Joy Ride) will host.

The celebration will honor the finest achievements from the LGBTQ+ entertainment community, both in front of and behind the camera, as well as showcase emerging and established talent. This event marks the newest addition to the CCA’s series, following its Celebration of Latino Cinema and Television, Celebration of Asian Pacific Cinema and Television and Celebration of Black Cinema and Television. The Celebrations aim to shine a light on work from historically underrepresented talent.

More from Deadline

“I am extremely proud to be able to announce this inaugural event showcasing the best performances from the LGBTQ+ community in film and television,” said Joey Berlin, CEO of the Critics Choice Association. “A significant number of the CCA’s membership identifies as LGBTQ+, so this Celebration is extremely meaningful to our organization.”

Pictures From Home
Nathan Lane

Multiple Emmy- and Tony-winning actor Nathan Lane will be honored with the Career Achievement Award. His long list of credits include The Birdcage, The Producers, The Lion King, Guys and Dolls, Dicks: The Musical, Only Murders in the Building and Beau Is Afraid.

Showrunner, executive producer, director and writer Abe Sylvia will receive the Showrunner Award for the Apple TV+ comedy series Palm Royale.

RELATED: Kristen Wiig On Her ‘Palm Royale’ Character Maxine: ‘We Wanted To Make Her Likable Even Though She Was Doing Things That Were Not That Likable”- Contenders TV

Carl Clemons-Hopkins will be awarded the Supporting Performance Award for Television (Series) for the Max comedy Hacks, Chris Perfetti will be honored with the Breakthrough Performance Award for Television (Series) for playing Jacob Hill in ABC’s Abbott Elementary, and Fernando Carsa will receive the Rising Star Award for his role as Memo in the Apple TV+ drama Acapulco.

George Takei
George Takei

Multihyphenate author, activist and original Star Trek actor George Takei will accept the Social Justice Award, honoring his fight for LGBTQ+ rights, racial justice and marriage equality.

Henry R. Muñoz III will receive the CCA’s inaugural Industry Leadership Award for being an advocate for LGBTQ+ equality and his philanthropic involvements and commitment to advance diverse storytelling through his leadership at Funny or Die.

Chef, author and entrepreneur Kristen Kish will be awarded the TV Host Award for Bravo’s Top Chef.

Director-writer Luke Gilford will be honored with the Breakthrough Director Award for LD Entertainment’s film National Anthem.

Michaela Jaé Rodriguez
Michaela Jaé Rodriguez

Michaela Jaé Rodriguez will be honored with the Vanguard Award for her work in the Apple TV+ series Loot.

Director Oliver Hermanus will be awarded the Director Award for Television (Series) for his work in the Starz limited series, Mary & George.

RELATED: ‘Fellow Travelers’ Sex Scenes Were Integral To ’50s-Set Story, Stars Matt Bomer & Jonathan Bailey Say — Contenders TV

Ron Nyswaner, Matt Bomer, Daniel Minahan, and Robbie Rogers will receive the Producer Award for their work on the Paramount+ with Showtime series Fellow Travelers.

RuPaul’s Drag Race team will accept the Trailblazer Award for the MTV’s RuPaul’s Drag Race.

RELATED: ‘RuPaul’s Drag Race All Stars’ Reveals Season 9 Queens

Actor, writer, and director Shakina will receive the Writer Award for Television (Series) for her work in the NBC and Universal Television series Quantum Leap.

Co-creators Johnnie Ingram and Stephen Warren, along with showrunner/director Peter LoGreco and drag queens Sasha Velour, Priyanka, Jaida Essence Hall and Latrice Royale will be honored with the Reality TV Award on behalf of the HBO reality series We’re Here.

STARZ will bestow one of the honorees with a special STARZ #TakeTheLead designation as part of its ongoing commitment to amplifying narratives by, about and for women and underrepresented audiences.

“Now more than ever, LGBTQ+ representation matters,” said CCA Members and Celebration of LGBTQ+ Cinema & Television Co-Programmers Jerry Nunn & Andrew Freund. “We are so proud to be part of an organization that honors diversity and celebrates the achievements of the LGBTQ+ community.”

The Celebration of LGBTQ+ Cinema & Television show is produced by Madelyn Hammond, Javier Infante & Zack Gill of Madelyn Hammond & Associates. CCA Board Member Shawn Edwards serves as Creative Consultant.

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.