NASA launches SpaceX's 23rd resupply mission

NASA launched SpaceX's 23rd commercial resupply service mission to the International Space Station on Sunday (August 29), after postponing the launch from its original liftoff time the day before because of bad weather.

Liftoff of the SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket carrying the company's upgraded Dragon spacecraft was at 3:15 a.m. Eastern Time (0715 GMT) from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

The reusable rocket then made a successful landing on a landing pad on Merritt Island where the space center is located.

The mission, dubbed CRS-23, will carry a payload of about 4,800 pounds (2,177 kilograms) in supplies, equipment and experiments to the space station, according to Space.com.

The Dragon cargo craft is scheduled to dock with the space station around 11 am Eastern Time on Monday (August 29) (1500 GMT), NASA said.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting