Modern Warfare 3 Early Access release time: play the campaign early

 A soldier from Modern Warfare 3 stands in uniform, looking to the left.
A soldier from Modern Warfare 3 stands in uniform, looking to the left.

Modern Warfare 3 Early Access is available to certain players up to a full week before the game releases officially. This news follows the full reveal of Modern Warfare 3, which will task players with taking down the formidable Vladimir Makarov.

Getting Early Access to Modern Warfare 3 requires you to pick up certain versions of the game as a pre-order, and it can be a little bit confusing choosing which one will get you the Campaign before launch. Considering Modern Warfare 3 is easily one of 2023's most anticipated upcoming games, you'll no doubt want to play it as early as you can if you're a fan of the series.

Here's how to get Early Access to Modern Warfare 3, as well as when it's all set to go live.

Modern Warfare 3 Campaign release time

A soldier stands in the pouring rain in Modern Warfare 3's campaign
A soldier stands in the pouring rain in Modern Warfare 3's campaign

Modern Warfare 3 Campaign launches November 2, 2023 at 10am PT / 1pm ET / 5pm GMT / 6pm CET and 2am JST / 5am AEST on November 3, 2023.

This is a full week before the game releases for PS5PS4Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, and PC.

How to get Early Access to Modern Warfare 3

Soldiers take cover behind a riot shield
Soldiers take cover behind a riot shield

You can play Modern Warfare 3's Early Access early by pre-ordering a digital copy of the game. Depending on where you play, you'll need to visit your respective store. You will then be able to download the Campaign Mode separately, getting you up to a week of early entry into the campaign. This applies to all platforms.

What's included in Modern Warfare 3's Early Access version

Soldiers approach the prison at night in the Modern Warfare 3 gameplay trailer
Soldiers approach the prison at night in the Modern Warfare 3 gameplay trailer

The full Modern Warfare 3 Campaign Mode will be available in Early Access for players who pre-order a digital version of the game before launch. The Campaign is said to be made up of traditional Call of Duty missions, as well as OCMs (Open-Combat Missions). These OCMs allow the player to approach them in different ways, be that by utilizing stealth, going in guns blazing, or using traps and decoys.

What is the Modern Warfare 3 Campaign File Size?

The Modern Warfare 3 File Size varies depending on what platform you are on. First you will need to have COD HQ downloaded, which is around 70GB on all platforms. Once you have that installed, you'll be able to head into the DLC section of the game on Steam, or into the download menus of PS5 and Xbox Series X to download the Campaign piecemeal.

The Campaign is available in either one or two packs, totaling a maximum of 40GB. Note that you will need to download other modes like Multiplayer before launch to have access.

That's everything you need to know about getting Early Access to Modern Warfare 3's Campaign Mode. For more details on what's included in the game at launch, check out our list of every Modern Warfare 3 map confirmed so far.