Michael Neser’s juggling boundary catch in Big Bash League causes huge debate

Michael Neser took a remarkable catch (John Walton/PA) (PA Archive)
Michael Neser took a remarkable catch (John Walton/PA) (PA Archive)

Michael Neser’s remarkable juggling boundary catch in the Big Bash League on Sunday caused huge debate as to whether it was a legitimate dismissal or a six.

When Jordan Silk carved Mark Steketee high towards the extra-cover boundary during Sydney Sixers’ game with Brisbane Heat, Neser took the catch and stumbled over the rope.

As he did so, he tried to flick the ball back but succeeded in only diverting it over the rope where he was forced to juggle again with his feet in the air before taking the catch on the field of play.

This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.

The TV umpire checked the dismissal and decided it was out, with Neser’s feet not touching the floor outside the rope when he had the ball in hand.

Neser told 7Cricket: “I knew (Matt) Renshaw did it a couple of years ago. I didn’t know if they had changed the rules so I thought I would give it a crack. Thankfully they didn’t change the rules.”

The catch cued a huge debate about the laws of the game, with many people believing it was a maximum and not the end of Silk’s 41 off 23 balls in the Sixers’ pursuit of 225.

This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.

England seamer Kate Cross tweeted: “I don’t understand how this has been given out.”

However, Australia all-rounder Chris Green tweeted: “Unbelievable catch! Huge moment in the game from Neser.”

The Sixers went on to lose by 15 runs at the Gabba.