A Lot of New Winter TV Shows Are Coming Out Early Next Year

Kayla Keegan
·4-min read

From Good Housekeeping

Dean Martin was right: The weather outside is, indeed, pretty darn frightful this time of year. But the upshot of the chilling wind gusts and frigid temperatures is that they make curling up with a warm blanket and hot toddy in front of the TV that much more enjoyable.

What's more, the winter months are typically when the major TV networks and streaming services treat viewers to all sorts of holiday specials and new series, and bring back tried-and-true shows. In late 2020 and early 2021, streaming service giants are introducing subscribers to new must-watch programs, like Selena the Series, Wandavision, and The Snoopy Show. Meanwhile, the networks are delivering on new shows like The Masked Dancer (a spinoff of The Masked Singer) and Call Me Kat starring Big Bang Theory's Mayim Bialik.

While not every major network and streaming service has released their full winter TV schedules just yet, we've rounded up the premiere dates we do know at the moment. Of course, we'll be updating this post as new info comes in, so make sure to check back if you don't see your favorite show listed below. Scroll through, mark these dates on your calendar, and enjoy watching the snow fall as you relax in front of the TV.

All times are in Eastern Standard Time (EST).

*Denotes a new series or revival debut.

December

Tuesday, December 1

The Holiday Movies That Made Us (Netflix, 3:01 a.m.)

Wednesday, December 2

SEAL Team (CBS, 9 p.m.)

Friday, December 4

*Selena the Series (Netflix, 3:01 a.m.)

The Great British Baking Show: Holidays (Netflix, 3:01 a.m.)

MacGyver (CBS, 8 p.m.)

Magnum P.I. (CBS, 9 p.m.)

Blue Bloods (CBS, 10 p.m.)

Wednesday, December 9

The Big Show Show: Christmas (Netflix, 3:01 a.m.)

Dr. Seuss: The Grinch Musical! (NBC, 8 p.m.)

Thursday, December 17

*The Stand (CBS All Access)

Friday, December 25

*Bridgerton (Netflix, 3:01 a.m.)

Sunday, December 27

*The Masked Dancer (Fox, 8 p.m.)

January

Friday, January 1

The Ticketmaster Birmingham Bowl (ESPN2, 12 p.m.)

The Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl (ESPN, 12:30 p.m.)

The Vrbo Citrus Bowl (ABC, 1 p.m.)

The College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Rose Bowl Game (ESPN, 5 p.m.)

The College Football Playoff Semifinal at the AllState Sugar Bowl (ESPN, 8:45 p.m.)

Saturday, January 2

The Taxslayer Gator Bowl (ESPN, 12 p.m.)

The Outback Bowl (ABC, 12:30 p.m.)

The PlayStation Fiesta Bowl (ESPN, 4 p.m.)

The Capital One Orange Bowl (ESPN, 8 p.m.)

Sunday, January 3

*Call Me Kat (Fox, 8 p.m.)

Last Man Standing (Fox, 8:30 p.m.)

The Simpsons (Fox, 9 p.m.)

Bless the Harts (Fox, 9:30 p.m.)

Thursday, January 7

Hell's Kitchen (Fox, 8 p.m.)

Friday, January 8

Cobra Kai (Netflix, 3:01 a.m.)

Dickinson (Apple TV+, 3:01 a.m.)

Whose Line Is It Anyway? (The CW, 8 p.m.)

Penn & Teller: Fool Us (The CW, 9 p.m.)

Monday, January 11

The College Football Playoff National Championship Game (ESPN, 8 p.m.)

Tuesday, January 12

The Resident (Fox, 8 p.m.)

Prodigal Son (Fox, 9 p.m.)

*Trickster (The CW, 9 p.m.)

Friday, January 15

*Wandavision (Disney+, 3:01 a.m.)

Servant (Apple TV+)

Sunday, January 17

Batwoman (The CW, 8 p.m.)

Monday, January 18

All American (The CW, 8 p.m.)

9-1-1 (Fox, 8 p.m.)

Lone Star (Fox, 9 p.m.)

Thursday, January 21

*Walker (The CW, 8 p.m.)

Legacies (The CW, 9 p.m.)

Sunday, January 24

Charmed (The CW, 9 p.m.)

Wednesday, January 27

*50M2 (Netflix, 3:01 a.m.)

Sunday, January 31

63rd Annual Grammy Awards (CBS, 8 p.m.)

February

Friday, February 5

*The Snoopy Show (Apple TV+)

Monday, February 8

Black Lightning (The CW, 9 p.m.)

Tuesday, February 23

The Flash (The CW, 8 p.m.)

*Superman and Louis (The CW, 9 p.m.)

Sunday, February 28

The 78th Annual Golden Globe Awards (NBC, 8 p.m.)

March

Sunday, March 7

The 26th Annual Critics' Choice Awards (The CW, 7 p.m.)

Sunday, March 14

The 27th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards (TBS, TNT, 8 p.m.)

You Might Also Like