London Assembly results as Sadiq Khan wins historic third term as mayor

Sadiq Khan has won the race to be the city’s next mayor after the last results in the mayoral race were declared.

With all the results in he has defeated his nearest challenger Susan Hall, securing just over 1,088,000 votes, a majority of some 275,000 over his Conservative rival.Counting also took place throughout Saturday for the seats on the London Assembly.

Voting figures for each of the 14 London Assembly constituencies were announced as soon as each count is completed.

Five Conservatives were elected to the London Assembly in the city-wide top-up list, including Ms Hall, and Lord Shaun Bailey, who was beaten by Mr Khan in 2021.

Emma Best, Andrew Boff and Alessandro Georgiou were also elected, along with Greens Sian Berry, Caroline Russell and Zack Polanski, and Elly Baker (Labour), Hina Bokhari (Liberal Democrat) and Alex Wilson (Reform UK).

Labour had 951,056 votes in the London-wide contest (38.40%), with the Conservatives on 648,269 (26.17%), Greens 286,746 (11.58%), Lib Dems 215,682 (8.71%) and Reform UK 145,409 (5.87%).

The Labour majority was 302,787 (12.23%) and there was a 2.41% swing from Conservative to Labour.

The result means the political make-up of the assembly is Labour, 11, Conservatives, eight, Greens three, Lib Dems two and Reform UK one.