[LIVE] GE15: Anwar casts his vote in Pematang Pauh

Malay Mail
Malay Mail

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 19 — [9.20am] Pakatan Harapan president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has cast his vote at SK Sri Penanti in Permatang Pauh.

He is challenging incumbent Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu for the Tambun parliamentary seat.

The Bersatu deputy president is also defending his seat against Tambun Umno division chief Datuk Aminnudin Md Hanifiah (Barisan Nasional) and Gerakan Tanah Air’s Abdul Rahim Tahir from Pejuang.

Ahmad Faizal cast his vote at the polling station in Sekolah Agama Rendah Al-Ithidayah in Tambun this morning.

[9.15am] Datuk Seri Tengku Zafrul Abdul Aziz and Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi were among the early voters today.

Tengku Zafrul, who is the Barisan Nasional hopeful for Kuala Selangor, cast his ballot at the SK Puncak Alam 2 polling centre shortly after 8am.

He was accompanied by his wife, Datin Seri Raja Johanna Adrina Raja Arshad.

Tengku Zafrul is in a four-cornered contest for the parliamentary seat with Dzulkefly Ahmad of Pakatan Harapan, Noor Mohd Shahar of Perikatan Nasional and Shaid Rosli of Pejuang.

Similarly, Barisan Nasional president Zahid cast his vote at Madrasah Manbail Ulum Sungai Nipah Darat in Bagan Datuk, Perak.

He was accompanied by his wife Datin Seri Hamidah Khamis and their daughter Nurul Hidayah.

The Bagan Datuk parliamentary constituency has been held by Zahid, the incumbent, since 1995.

His challengers are Pakatan Harapan’s Datuk Shamsul Iskandar Md Akin, Perikatan Nasional’s Muhammad Faiz Na’man and independent candidate Tawfik Ismail.

Tawfik is the son of the late Tun Dr Ismail Abdul Rahman, the country’s second deputy prime minister.

[8.29am] The returning officer for the Tioman state seat in Pahang postponed the election before polling was officially due to open at 8am.

This is due to death of Perikatan Nasional (PN) candidate Md Yunus Ramli at 3.30am this morning.

His death was confirmed by Central PAS Committee member Wan Rohimi Wan Daud to Bernama.

In GE15, the Tioman state seat was to have witnessed a five-cornered clash between Yunus, Sulaiman Bakar (Independent), Osman A. Bakar (Pejuang), Mohd Fadzli Mohd Ramly (Pakatan Harapan), and Datuk Seri Mohd Johari Hussain (Barisan Nasional).

[8am] Polling stations officially open across peninsular Malaysia.

Voters may cast their ballot between 8am and 6pm in peninsular Malaysia and from 7.30am to 5.30pm in Sabah and Sarawak.

If you are in Selangor, Negri Sembilan, Melaka, Johor and Sabah, the Malaysian Meteorological Department (MetMalaysia) has issued a weather advisory for lightning, heavy rain, and strong winds until 9am.

[7.30am] Good morning, Malaysia.

The 15th general election is officially upon us.

Polling has begun in Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan.

If you are casting your ballot today, here are the EC’s voting guidelines for your reference.