Lawrence replaces injured Malins in England team to face Ireland

·2-min read
Ollie Lawrence is a late inclusion in the England team to face Ireland following an injury to Max Malins

Ollie Lawrence will start England's final Six Nations match against Ireland later on Saturday after full-back Max Malins suffered a leg injury the team announced.

Lawrence gets his second start of the tournament in the centres with Elliott Daly reverting from there to his usual full-back spot.

"Team update Max Malins has been withdrawn from the side with a leg injury," tweeted England Rugby.

"Ollie Lawrence will start at outside centre with Elliot Daly moving to full back. George Martin joins the 23 as a replacement."

Ireland too were forced into a late change, though in the replacements.

Ross Byrne comes in for Ulster fly-half Billy Burns as understudy for captain Johnny Sexton, who will win his 99th cap for his country.

Byrne has only featured once in this season's championship, as a replacement against France, but he started the last time these two met, at Twickenham in the Autumn Nations Cup.

Neither side can win the title but there is still much at stake.

England are bidding for their fifth successive win over Ireland whilst the hosts want to give backrow forward CJ Stander a proper send-off in his 51st and final Test for his adopted country.

Teams (15-1)


Hugo Keenan; Keith Earls, Robbie Henshaw, Bundee Aki, Jacob Stockdale; Johnny Sexton (capt), Conor Murray; Jack Conan, Josh van der Flier, CJ Stander; Tadhg Beirne, Iain Henderson; Tadhg Furlong, Rob Herring, Jack Kilcoyne

Replacements: Ronan Kelleher, Cian Healy, Andrew Porter, Ryan Baird, Peter O'Mahony, Jamison Gibson-Park, Ross Byrne, Jordan Larmour

Coach: Andy Farrell (IRL)


Elliott Daly; Anthony Watson, Ollie Lawrence, Owen Farrell (capt), Jonny May; George Ford, Ben Youngs; Billy Vunipola, Tom Curry, Mark Wilson; Charlie Ewels, Maro Itoje; Kyle Sinckler, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Mako Vunipola

Replacements: Jamie George, Ellis Genge, Will Stuart, Jonny Hill, Ben Earl, Dan Robson, George Martin, Joe Marchant

Coach: Eddie Jones (AUS)

Referee: Mathieu Raynal (FRA)