Laura Linney, Justin Kurzel, Ben Semanoff to Direct Jason Bateman & Jude Law’s Netflix Series ‘Black Rabbit’

Laura Linney, Ben Semanoff and Justin Kurzel have all signed on to direct multiple episodes of the upcoming Netflix limited series “Black Rabbit.”

The trio will each direct two episodes of the series, which was picked up at Netflix in March. It will mark a reunion for Linney and “Black Rabbit” co-lead Jason Bateman, who previously starred as Wendy and Marty Byrde in the Netflix crime drama “Ozark” for four seasons. Semanoff also directed episodes of “Ozark.” Jude Law will also star in “Black Rabbit.” Law, Kurzel, and “Black Rabbit” co-creator Zach Baylin have also collaborated on the upcoming true crime film “The Order.”

More from Variety

The official logline for the series states that it follows “the owner of a New York City hotspot (Law) who allows his turbulent brother (Bateman) back in his life, only to realize he’s opened the door to escalating dangers that threaten to bring down everything he’s built.”

Bateman will direct the first two episodes of the series, while Linney will direct episodes three and four. Semanoff will direct five and six, and Kurzel will direct seven and eight.

In addition to her highly-succesful onscreen career, Linney has directed for television in the past. She previously helmed episode 11 of Season 4 of “Ozark,” titled “Pound of Flesh and Still Kickin.” For Semanoff, his recent credits include “Yellowjackets” at Showtime, “Tulsa King” at Paramount+, “Candy” at Hulu, and “One of Us Is Lying” at Peacock. Kurzel has directed several films in his career, including “True History of the Kelly Gang,” 2015’s “Macbeth,” and the 2016 film “Assassin’s Creed.”

Linney is repped by CAA, Lighthouse Media & Management and Yorn Levine. Semanoff is repped by Echo Lake Entertainment and Gersh. Kurzel is repped by HLA Management, CAA, Biscuit Filmworks, and Sloane Offer.

Along with Bateman and Law, the cast of “Black Rabbit” also includes: Cleopatra Coleman, Amaka Okafor, Ṣọpẹ́ Dìrísù, Troy Kotsur, Abbey Lee, Chris Coy, Dagmara Dominczyk, Odessa Young and Robin De Jesus, with Amir Malaklou, Don Harvey, Forrest Weber, Francis Benhamou , Gus Birney, John Ales and Steve Witting.

Zach Baylin and Kate Susman wrote the series and serve as showrunners and executive producers via Youngblood Pictures. Bateman and Michael Costigan executive produce via Aggregate Films. Law and Ben Jackson executive produce under their Riff Raff Entertainment banner. Andrew Hinderaker, Zac Frognowski, Justin Levy, David Bernon, and Erica Kay also executive produce.

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.