Langkawi bans travelers from 26 countries due to Omicron fears

·1-min read

Malaysia’s Langkawi island has banned entry to travelers from 26 countries due to Omicron fears, just a month after reopening the holiday destination to the world.

They are mostly countries that have detected the new variant, including the United Kingdom, Portugal, and the Netherlands, Health Director-General Noor Hisham Abdullah said yesterday. Langkawi residents or long-term pass holders returning from affected countries are required to reroute to the Kuala Lumpur International Airport and serve quarantine.

“They are also required to undergo 14 days’ quarantine at designated centers before being allowed on to Langkawi. Direct flights to Langkawi are not allowed,” he told reporters.

Langkawi opened its borders to international tourists via government-approved travel agents last month. The latest travel restrictions were announced just a day after Malaysia placed a temporary ban on travelers from eight African countries over fears of Omicron transmission.

Malaysia has not detected any cases of the new coronavirus variant. However, two people from across the border in Singapore were yesterday confirmed to be infected with Omicron.

Here’s a full list of the 26 countries:

  1. United Kingdom

  2. Portugal

  3. Netherlands

  4. Australia

  5. Canada

  6. South Korea

  7. Hong Kong

  8. Israel

  9. Italy

  10. Germany

  11. Denmark

  12. Sweden

  13. Nigeria

  14. Belgium

  15. Japan

  16. Brazil

  17. Norway

  18. Czech Republic

  19. France

  20. Austria

  21. Spain

  22. Saudi Arabia

  23. Ghana

  24. Republic of Ireland

  25. United Arab Emirates

  26. United States

Other stories:

Miss Grand Malaysia struts with seven ‘ritual’ dolls in national costume round (Video)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting