Johor state assembly congratulates Anwar on PM appointment

Malay Mail
Malay Mail

ISKANDAR PUTERI, Dec 1 — The Johor state legislative assembly session today recorded its congratulations to Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim on his appointment as the country’s 10th prime minister.

Johor state assembly speaker Datuk Mohd Puad Zarkashi announced this in his address at the fourth conference of the 15th state assembly session in Kota Iskandar here.

"Congratulations to Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim who was appointed as the 10th prime minister of Malaysia," he said.

Anwar, who is also the Pakatan Harapan (PH) chairman, was sworn in as prime minister on November 24 at Istana Negara by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah.

In the 15th general election (GE15) on November 19, PH secured the highest with 82 seats followed by Perikatan Nasional (PN) with 73 seats and Barisan Nasional (BN) with 30 seats. Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) won 23 seats, Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS) six seats, Parti Warisan Sabah (three), Independent (two) while Parti Bangsa Malaysia and Parti Kesejahteraan Demokratik Masyarakat (PKDM) secured one seat each.

Mohd Puad, who is also the Rengit assemblyman, also congratulated former Johor Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Hasni Mohammad (BN-Benut), for winning the Simpang Renggam parliamentary seat in GE15.

In addition to that, he also congratulated Johor Opposition Leader Liew Chin Tong (PH-Perling) who won the Iskandar Puteri parliamentary seat and Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub (PH-Simpang Jeram) who won the Pulai parliamentary seat.