Jack Grealish and Harry Maguire left out of England Euro 2024 squad

Jack Grealish and Harry Maguire have been left out of England's squad for Euro 2024.

James Maddison and Curtis Jones also haven't being selected in Gareth Southgate's 26-player squad.

Southgate called it a "difficult day" for those who didn't make the team, but said they took it "really respectfully".

The England manager said he and his staff had "gone over and over" the selection.

He said he was "sad" to leave out Grealish and Maddison but other players simply had a stronger season.

Half of the squad taken to Qatar for the World Cup 18 months ago won't travel to Germany.

Grealish and Maguire will be seen as the big omissions, but 20-year-old Adam Wharton and Eberechi Eze from Crystal Palace will experience a major international tournament for the first time.

"I am devastated not to have been selected to play for England at the Euros this summer," Maguire said on social media.

"Despite my best efforts, I have not been able to overcome an injury to my calf. Maybe I pushed myself too hard, to try and make it. Simply, I am absolutely gutted."

Tottenham's James Maddison tweeted: "Devastated doesn't quite cut it.

"Trained well and worked hard all week but if I'm honest with myself, my form for Spurs when coming back from injury in the second half of the season probably wasn't at the levels I had set which gave Gareth a decision to make.

"I still thought there would be a space for me in a 26-man squad as I feel I bring something different & had been a mainstay in this whole qualifying campaign."

Jarell Quansah, Jarrad Branthwaite and James Trafford also all missed out.

England's first Euro 2024 group game is against Serbia on 16 June. They then play Denmark on 20 June and Slovenia on 25 June.

The final is on Sunday 14 July.

England squad

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Defenders: Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Man Utd), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace)

Forwards: Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)