Isham Jalil appointed Umno's information chief, replacing Shahril Hamdan

Malay Mail
Malay Mail

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 20 — Umno Supreme Council member and political strategist Hizatul Isham Abdul Jalil has been appointed as the party’s new information chief effective today.

His appointment was confirmed by Umno secretary-general Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan, following the resignation of Shahril Sufian Hamdan as the party’s information chief this morning.

"I would like to state that according to Clause 9.6 of the Umno Constitution, party president Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi has appointed Isham Jalil as Umno’s chief information officer, with effect from November 20, 2022.

"This follows the resignation of Shahril Hamdan today. Thank you for the services provided Saudara Shahril,” said the newly-elected Pontian MP via his Twitter account today.

The party strategist, popularly known as Isham Jalil, also confirmed his appointment on his Facebook posting.

He said his appointment was communicated to him after Umno deputy president Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan and Ahmad contacted him about his role as the party’s new information chief.

"The official letter has been signed by the party leadership. I thank them for this appointment and the party's trust in me.

"I will hold this trust to the best of my ability," said Isham, who was previously Selangor Barisan Nasional (BN) information chief.

Isham had earlier lost in his bid for the Shah Alam parliamentary constituency to Pakatan Harapan (PH) candidate Azli Yusof, who managed a majority of 18,095 votes in yesterday’s 15th general election (GE15).

Earlier today, Shahril announced his resignation as Umno’s information chief citing collective responsibility and urged Ahmad Zahid to also honorably step down following BN’s disastrous performance in GE15.

He also agreed with Johor Mentri Besar Datuk Onn Hafiz Ghazi’s statement this morning, calling for Ahmad Zahid's resignation.

Shahril, who represented BN, also lost the contest for the Alor Gajah parliamentary constituency to PH’s Adly Zahari in a four-cornered contest.

He narrowly lost after garnering 27,288 votes compared to Adly who polled 28,178 votes for a wafer-thin majority of 890 votes.