'The Irishman' is the Best Film of the year for the National Board of Review

Martin Scorsese (L) cast Robert de Niro (R) as the lead in 'The Irishman.'

The award augurs well for Martin Scorsese. A year after it chose to honor "Green Book" in 2018, the National Board of Review (NBR) has announced that its award for Best Film will go to Martin Scorsese for "The Irishman." The prize will set the tone for the next Golden Globes and even more so for the Oscars. Let's not forget that Peter Farrelly's "Green Book" subsequently won both the Golden Globe and the Oscar for Best Picture in 2019.

"The Irishman" by Martin Scorsese, which was released on the Netflix streaming platform on November 27, features an exceptional cast with Rober De Niro, Al Pacino and Joe Pesci. However, no member of the trio was singled out by the NBR for its 2019 Best Actor Award, which went to Adam Sandler for his role in "Uncut Gems," a Josh and Benny Safdie film which is also destined for Netflix. De Niro and Pacino will be nonetheless honored with the very first NBR Icon Award, which they will share with their director.

As for the Best Director Award, the much-coveted prize will be given to another major figure from the world of movies. Quentin Tarantino, who became the successor to 2018 laureate Bradley Cooper, with his homage to a golden age of cinema, "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood." The feature will also allow Brad Pitt, one of its top-billed stars along with Leonardo DiCaprio, to take home the Best Supporting Actor Award. 

As for actresses, Renée Zellweger will come out on top with the award for Best Actress for her performance as Judy Garland in the Rupert Goold biopic "Judy." The American star already won the 2019 Hollywood Actress Award on November 3, so she will most likely be in the running for an Oscar in 2020.

The award ceremony will be held in New York on January 8, 2020.

The awards

Best Film: "The Irishman"
Best Director: Quentin Tarantino, "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood"
Best Actor: Adam Sandler, "Uncut Gems"
Best Actress: Renée Zellweger, "Judy"
Best Supporting Actor: Brad Pitt, "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood"
Best Supporting Actress: Kathy Bates, "Richard Jewell"
Best Original Screenplay: Josh Safdie, Benny Safdie, Ronald Bronstein, "Uncut Gems"
Best Adapted Screenplay: Steven Zaillian, "The Irishman"
Breakthrough Performance: Paul Walter Hauser, "Richard Jewell"
Best Directorial Debut: Melina Matsoukas, "Queen & Slim"
Best Animated film: "How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World"
Best Foreign Film: "Parasite"
Best Documentary: "Maiden"
Best Ensemble: "Knives Out"
Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Roger Deakins, "1917"
NBR Icon Award: Martin Scorsese, Robert De Niro, Al Pacino
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: "For Sama"
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: "Just Mercy"