‘Heartbreak High’ Renewed For Third & Final Season At Netflix

The end is in sight for Heartbreak High. Netflix has renewed the reboot of the classic Australian comedy drama, which follows kids at a fictional high school, for a third and final season, the streamer announced Thursday.

Season 3 will see cast and creators reassemble in Sydney, Australia for the final year at Hartley High.

More from Deadline

Season 2, released on April 11, premiered as one of the most popular shows both in Australia and worldwide on Netflix, according to the streamer. It debuted at #1 in Australia and stayed on the Global Top 10 English TV Series list  for three consecutive weeks.  The series also reached over 2 billion views on TikTok.

“She never got the letter – but now we get to see what happens next! Renewing Heartbreak High for its final season is a major point of pride for us at Netflix,” said Netflix Director of Content ANZ Que Minh Luu. “It has been a joy to work with the utterly cooked creative minds behind our favourite Aussie YA show and to bring our stories, our culture and our in-jokes to all the fans here at home and throughout the world. See you at muck up day.”

Carly Heaton, Fremantle Head of Scripted says, “We are beyond excited to all come together again as we love existing in the craziness of Hartley High. We aimed to create a show where Aussie young people are seen and heard and we are completely overwhelmed by the worldwide reaction to the stories of these characters. All of us who work on the series are grateful to have the opportunity to see what kind of mess evolves in season three.”

Heartbreak High is created by Hannah Carroll Chapman and produced by Sarah Freeman. Series is produced by Fremantle Australia and NewBE. Carly Heaton executive produces, Chapman serves as co-executive producer and Anna Curtis is associate producer.

The original Heartbreak High aired in Australia between 1994-1996 on Network Ten and between 1997-1999 on ABC Australia and also had a big fan base in the UK. The reboot stars Asher Yasbincek, Gemma Chua-Tran, Josh Heuston, James Majoos, Chloe Hayden, Ayesha Madon, Sherry-Lee Watson, Will McDonald, Bryn Chapman-Parish, Brodie Townsend, Thomas Weatherall and Chika Ikogwe.

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.