Advertisement

Haney vs Lomachenko time: When does fight start in UK and US tonight?

Devin Haney and Vasiliy Lomachenko will meet in a huge main event in Las Vegas this weekend, as the American defends the undisputed lightweight titles against the Ukrainian.

The unbeaten Haney, 24, unified the belts against George Kambosos Jr last June, outpointing the Australian in his own backyard before doing so again in October to retain the titles.

Prior to those bouts, Kambosos Jr was unbeaten and had taken three of the belts from Teofimo Lopez in 2021. In turn, Lopez had stunned Lomachenko with a decision win in 2020 to become unified champion.

At 35, Lomachenko, who has held world titles in multiple weight classes, could be running out of time to recapture gold. As impressive as the two-time Olympic gold medalist’s career has been, he faces a stiff test in Haney.

Here’s all you need to know as two pound-for-pound stars go head to head.

When is it?

The fight will take place at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas on Saturday 20 May.

The main card is due to begin at 1am BST on Sunday 21 May (5pm PT, 7pm CT, 8pm ET), with ring walks for the main event expected at approximately 4am BST (8pm PT, 10pm CT, 11pm ET).

How can I watch it?

In the UK, the event will air live on Sky Sports as well as the broadcaster’s website and Sky Go app.

In the US, ESPN+ will stream the fights live on pay-per-view.

Odds

In 2022, Devin Haney (right) unified the lightweight belts against George Kambosos Jr before retaining them against him in a rematch (Getty Images)
In 2022, Devin Haney (right) unified the lightweight belts against George Kambosos Jr before retaining them against him in a rematch (Getty Images)

Haney – 2/5

Lomachenko – 21/10

Draw – 12/1

Full odds via Betway.

Full card (subject to change)

Devin Haney (C) vs Vasiliy Lomachenko (IBF, WBA, WBC and WBO lightweight titles)

Juno Nakatani vs Andrew Maloney (vacant WBO super-flyweight title)

Raymond Muratalla vs Jeremia Nakathila (lightweight)

Oscar Valdez vs Adam Lopez (super-featherweight)

Floyd Diaz vs Luis Saavedra (super-bantamweight)

Nico Ali Walsh vs Danny Rosenberger (middleweight)

Abdullah Mason vs Desmond Lyons (lightweight)

Amari Jones vs Pachino Hill (middleweight)

Emiliano Vargas vs Rafael Jasso (lightweight)

Click here to subscribe to The Independent’s Sport YouTube channel for all the latest sports videos.