‘Golden Axe’ Animated Series Based On Video Game Ordered By Comedy Central; Matthew Rhys, Danny Pudi Among Voice Cast

Comedy Central has handed a 10-episode order to Golden Axe, a new animated series based on the popular Sega video game. Produced by CBS Studios in association with Sony Pictures Television and Original Film, Golden Axe voice cast is led by Emmy winner Matthew Rhys (The Americans), Danny Pudi (Mythic Quest), Lisa Gilroy (Jury Duty), Liam McIntyre (Spartacus) and Carl Tart (Grand Crew).

Described as a hilarious and loving homage to Sega’s 1989 video game series, Golden Axe, from exec producers Mike McMahon and Joe Chandler, follows veteran warriors Ax Battler, Tyris Flare and Gilius Thunderhead as they once again battle to save Yuria from the evil giant Death Adder who just won’t seem to stay dead. Fortunately, this time they have the inexperienced and underprepared Hampton Squib on their side.

More from Deadline

Rhys will play Gilius Thunderhead, a grumpy battle dwarf with exceptionally poor hygiene and a chip on his shoulder.

Pudi is Hampton Squib, a naive, inexperienced first time adventurer who has dreamt of questing his entire life. He hopes his can-do attitude can make up for his inability to actually do stuff.

Gilroy portrays Tyris Flare, a fearsome battle sorceress, deadly in a fight and even deadlier with her sharp wit.

McIntyre plays Ax Battler, a barbarian warrior with a strict code of honor and sweet golden retriever demeanor. His brawn outweighs his brains, but his heart outweighs his brawn.

Tart’s Chronos “Evil” Lait, originally from Golden Axe III, is a 100% badass humanoid panther. At least that’s how Chronos describes himself. In reality he’s uncomfortably cheesy and can’t read a room.

Golden Axe is produced by CBS’ Eye Animation Productions, CBS Studios’ animation arm; Sony Pictures Television; and Original Film.

McMahan (Star Trek: Lower Decks) and Chandler (American Dad!) will co-write the first episode and executive produce the series, with Chandler serving as showrunner. Sega’s Haruki Satomi, Shuji Utsumi and Toru Nakahara (Sonic the Hedgehog) will also executive produce alongside Neal H. Moritz, Pavun Shetty and Toby Ascher of Original Film. Titmouse (Big Mouth) serves as the animation studio for the series with Chris Prynoski, Shannon Prynoski, Antonio Canobbio and Ben Kalina serving as executive producers.

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.