GE15: GRS-BN leaders urge party members not to sabotage, boycott over candidate selection

Malay Mail
Malay Mail

KOTA KINABALU, Nov 2 — Gabungan Rakyat Sabah and Sabah Barisan Nasional leaders today said that they have done their best to come to an arrangement that is in the interest of the coalition for the 25 parliamentary seats in the state for the 15th general election (GE15).

Both leaders — GRS chairman Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor and Sabah BN chairman Datuk Seri Bung Moktar Radin stressed to their followers the importance of supporting each other instead of showing dissatisfaction if their candidate is not selected to contest.

Hajiji, who is also the chief minister urged those who are not happy not to consider any form of sabotage or boycotts.

“Please do not think negatively and sabotage our candidates. Do not try anything. We will never move forward and progress if we play games and hold each other back,” he said.

“I’m tired of fighting, maybe Bung can, he is a warrior, but I cannot. What do we get from fighting? Everyone loses in the end,” he said.

Bung said that party members should put aside any animosity they might feel and accept the decision made by the leadership wholeheartedly.

“There will be some who will be disappointed to be dropped today. From both GRS and BN. But please do not sulk. The leadership has made some tough decisions in the interest of everyone,” said Bung, who was the first to make his speech today.

“We need to look at the big picture. We need each other to win. BN cannot do this without GRS and GRS cannot win without BN,” he said.

Bung said that it was not easy to divide the seats between all the parties in the ruling coalition, and they had discussed it at length to present Sabahans with the best option.

Between the two coalitions, there are nine parties in total. GRS consists of Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu), Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS), Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP), Parti Solidarity Tanah Airku (STAR) and United Sabah National Alliance (Usno).

BN consists of Umno, Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS), MCA and MIC.

In the lineup for Sabah announced today, Umno has 11 seats, Bersatu has six, PBS has four, STAR has two, SAPP and PBRS each have one. Usno, MCA and MIC are sitting this election out.

The Beluran seat has yet to be confirmed although it is largely believed that Umno will contest the seat, effectively kicking out senior Bersatu minister Datuk Ronald Kiandee.