GE15: In embarrassing defeat, Dr Mahathir loses Langkawi along with election deposit

Malay Mail
Malay Mail

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 19 — In an embarrassing turn of events, Langkawi incumbent Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has lost the parliamentary seat along with his deposit.

Perikatan Nasional's (PN) Datuk Mohd Suhaimi Abdullah won with a 13,518-vote majority against Barisan Nasional's (BN) Datuk Armishah Siraj.

Apart from Dr Mahathir who is the chairman of Parti Pejuang Tanah Air (Pejuang), Pakatan Harapan's (PH) Zabidi Yahya and independent candidate Datuk Paduka Abdul Kadir Sainudin also lost their deposits.

The battle for Langkawi was a five-cornered battle.