French-American Foundation announces 2024 ‘Young Leaders’

The French-American Foundation has named its annual Young Leaders list, recognizing more than 40 young American and French professionals for “their demonstrated leadership and their passion for forging bonds in a globalized world.”

The 2024 cohorts join a network that boasts nearly 600 alumni, including former President Clinton, former and current secretaries of State Hillary Clinton and Antony Blinken, French President Emmanuel Macron and Pulitzer Prize-winning author Isabel Wilkerson.

First started in 1981, the Young Leaders program “brings together French and American professionals to discuss issues of common concern” and “develop a corps of citizen diplomats who cut through official channels to exchange ideas and create lasting, global ties,” according to Caroline Naralasetty, president of the foundation.

A U.S. ambassador to Luxembourg, James G. Lowenstein co-founded The French-American Foundation in 1976 in an attempt to repair what he perceived as antagonistic relations between the United States and France.

While relations between the two countries are strong today, Naralasetty said in a written statement that the connection still serves an essential diplomatic purpose.

“We develop a corps of citizen diplomats who cut through official channels to exchange ideas and create lasting, global ties,” she wrote.

“I doubt if I could fully explain how useful and stimulating I found the discussions and informal conversation,” Hilary Clinton said of the program. “The specific topics were timely, but, even more important to me, were the various perspectives the participants brought to them.”

During last year’s program, fellows visited Strasbourg, France, and participated in conversations about populism and antidemocratic movements, conflict in the Middle East, terrorism threats in Europe, and the European Parliament.

This year’s list features professionals from numerous backgrounds in the media, military, medicine, and more, including the CEO of National Public Radio and a global head of Amazon Web Services.

“Our Young Leaders tell us time and again that what they value most about the program is the opportunity to engage with peers outside of their immediate professional field,” Naralasetty said.

“The program provides a forum for participants from a wide range of backgrounds to discuss issues of common concern, reflect on questions of leadership, and forge relationships, all in the name of fostering global understanding.”

This year, the 2023 and 2024 fellows will travel to Miami in October and to France later in the program.

“It is this idea of the power of personal relationships to effect change over time that distinguishes the program,” Naralasetty wrote. “After their two years in the program, Young Leaders become part of an active, global community of alumni who leverage the network to develop professionally and maintain ties across the Atlantic.”

The 2024 U.S. Young Leaders are:

Alexandre Chenesseau, managing director, CMD Global Partners LLC

Vivek Chilukuri, senior fellow and director, Technology and National Security Program, Center for a New American Security

Michael Greenwald, global head, financial innovation and executive relations, Amazon Web Services

Lindsey Laveaux, senior trial attorney, New York County defender services

Katherine Maher, president and CEO of National Public Radio

Christian Osmeña, vice president, enterprise planning, Arizona State University

Stephanie Oueda-Cruz, global vice president, diversity, equity and inclusion, Tiffany & Co.

Mallery-Jade “Jadzia” Pierce, European data protection officer, Microsoft

Vincent Pons, professor, Harvard Business School

Joseph Romeo, partner — private equity, Apollo Global Management

Anshuman Sahoo, vice president, head of climate strategy, Capital One

Anne Vigier, director, global product activation, emerging experiences & community, YouTube

The 2024 French Young Leaders are:

Johanna Brousse, deputy prosecutor, head of cybercrime unit, Paris prosecutor’s office

Marguerite Cazeneuve, deputy director, the French Public Health Insurance

Pierre-Olivier Chotard, general secretary of the Interministerial Committee for Industrial Restructuring, deputy assistant director in charge of corporate financing, Treasury Department — Ministry of Finance

Isis Jaraud-Darnault, diplomat, political coordinator — Permanent Mission of France to the United Nations

Jamil Jiva, managing director, Linedata Asset Management

François Miguet, senior reporter, Le Point

Yoann Mulot, lieutenant-colonel, French army

Arielle Schwab, deputy managing director, Havas Paris and cross-cultural activist

Franck Verdonk, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor in medicine (Sorbonne Université), specialized in anesthesiology and intensive care (assistance publique — Hôpitaux de Paris) and co-founder (SurgeCare)

Cyrielle Villepelet, managing director, Téthys Invest

Ariane Komorn, co-founder and CEO, La Solive

Thomas Moatti, director, Lazard Frères, Sovereign Advisory Group

Copyright 2024 Nexstar Media, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to The Hill.