Advertisement

Who is fighting on the Canelo vs Ryder undercard tonight?

Saul “Canelo” Alvarez returns to the ring tonight, defending the undisputed super-middleweight titles against John Ryder in a unique Cinco de Mayo celebration.

Alvarez, 32, retained the belts against Gennady Golovkin last time out, outpointing his old rival in September, and now the Mexican defends the gold in his home country of Mexico.

Ryder is the challenger, looking for his fifth straight win and to build on a stoppage victory over Zach Parker, a result that saw the Briton win the WBO interim title in November.

Ryder, 34, is set for his toughest test yet as he takes on Canelo in Guadalajara, in a main-event bout.

Here’s all you need to know. We may earn commission from some of the links in this article, but we never allow this to influence our content. This revenue helps to fund journalism across The Independent.

When is it?

The fight will take place on Saturday 6 May at the Estadio Akron in Guadalajara, Mexico.

The main card is scheduled to begin at 12am BST on Sunday 7 May (4pm PT, 6pm CT, 7pm ET on Saturday).

Ring walks for the main event are expected at approximately 4am BST on Sunday (8pm PT, 10pm CT, 11pm ET on Saturday).

How can I watch it?

The event will stream live on subscription service Dazn in the UK and worldwide, and on Dazn pay-per-view in the US and Canada.

Odds

Canelo – 1/12

Ryder – 13/2

Draw – 22/1

Full odds via Betway.

Full card (subject to change)

John Ryder after winning the WBO International super-middleweight title (Zac Goodwin/PA) (PA Wire)
John Ryder after winning the WBO International super-middleweight title (Zac Goodwin/PA) (PA Wire)

Saul “Canelo” Alvarez (C) vs John Ryder (WBA [Super], WBC, IBF and WBO super-middleweight titles)

Julio Cesar Martinez (C) vs Ronal Batista (WBC flyweight title)

Steve Spark (C) vs Gabriel Gollaz Valenzuela (WBA Intercontinental super-lightweight title)

Nathan Devon Rodriguez vs Alexander Mejia (featherweight)

Oleksandr Gvozdyk vs Ricards Bolotniks (super-middleweight)

Bek Nurmaganbet vs Argenis Espana (super-middleweight)

Lawrence King vs Elio German Rafael (super-welterweight)

Johansen Alvarez Suarez vs Johan Rodriguez Arreguin (super-featherweight)

Abilkhan Amankul vs Jesus Moroyoqui Palomares (middleweight)

Carlos Emiliano Rojo vs Fabian Trejo Rivera (super-welterweight)

Jesus Larios vs Alejandro Curiel (featherweight)

Click here to subscribe to The Independent’s Sport YouTube channel for all the latest sports videos.