Fangoria Chainsaw Awards Nominees Include New Video Game Category | Exclusive

Ready to rock the vote? And by “rock the vote,” we of course mean vote in 2024’s Fangoria Chainsaw Awards. Voting is officially open for the awards show, which will once again stream on Shudder. They even have a new category this year — Best Video Game!

The Chainsaw Awards, according to the official press release, arrive at a “pivotal moment when the horror genre has seen a remarkable resurgence in both critical acclaim and box office success. This year’s contenders, from chilling psychological thrillers to pulse-pounding supernatural tales, have not only captivated audiences but also shaped the future of horror storytelling.”

With the move of the ceremony to October (the spookiest time of year, naturally), “the window of this year’s eligible horrors is an expanded one, encompassing all of 2023 and the first half of 2024.”

See the full list of nominees, below:

Best Wide Release Movie


Evil Dead Rise

The First Omen

Godzilla Minus One

Infinity Pool

Late Night With the Devil


Satanic Hispanics

Talk to Me

When Evil Lurks

Best Limited Release Movie


Enys Men

I Saw the TV Glow

The Outwaters

Suitable Flesh

Best Streaming Premiere Movie

No One Will Save You


Totally Killer


Where the Devil Roams

Best First Feature

The Angry Black Girl and Her Monster


It Lives Inside



Best International Movie

The Coffee Table



Huesera: The Bone Woman

When Evil Lurks

Best Lead Performance

Tobin Bell, Saw X

David Dastmalchian, Late Night with the Devil

Kaitlyn Dever, No One Will Save You

Nell Tiger Free, The First Omen

Kathryn Newton, Lisa Frankenstein

Lupita Nyong’o, A Quiet Place: Day One

Emma Stone, Poor Things

Lily Sullivan, Evil Dead Rise

Sydney Sweeney, Immaculate

Sophie Wilde, Talk to Me

Best Supporting Performance

Dave Bautista, Knock at the Cabin

Joe Bird, Talk to Me

Nicolas Cage, Renfield

Mia Goth, Infinity Pool

Kathryn Newton, Abigail

Bridgette Lundy Paine, I Saw the TV Glow

Dewayne Perkins, The Blackening

Dan Stevens, Abigail

Alyssa Sutherland, Evil Dead Rise

Alisha Weir, Abigail

Best Director

Brandon Cronenberg, Infinity Pool

Lee Cronin, Evil Dead Rise

Danny and Michael Philippou, Talk to Me

Demián Rugna, When Evil Lurks

Arkasha Stevenson, The First Omen

Best Screenplay

Colin and Cameron Cairnes, Late Night With the Devil

Akela Cooper; story by Akela Cooper and James Wan, M3GAN

Brandon Cronenberg, Infinity Pool

Danny Philippou and Bill Hinzman, Talk to Me

Arkasha Stevenson, Tim Smith and Keith Thomas; story by Ben Jacoby, The First Omen

Best Cinematography

Pierce Derks, In a Violent Nature

Karim Hussain, Infinity Pool

Aaron Morton, The First Omen

Robbie Ryan, Poor Things

Eric K. Yue, I Saw the TV Glow

Best Makeup FX

Marcos Berta, When Evil Lurks

Bec Buratto, Paul Katte and Nick Nicolaou, Talk to Me

Liz Byrne, Paul Byrne & Matthew Smith, Abigail

Steven Kostanski, In a Violent Nature

Tristan Lucas, Evil Dead Rise

Best Creature FX

Jim Henson’s Creature Shop, Five Nights at Freddy’s

Adam Johansen and Damian Martin, Odd Studio, Evil Dead Rise

Göran Lundström, The Last Voyage of the Demeter

Adrien Morot, Morot FX Studios, M3GAN

Thierry Onillon and Léo Ewald, Infested

Best Costume Design

Francesca Brunori, Immaculate

Paco Delgado, The First Omen

Steph Hooke, Late Night With the Devil

Meagan McLaughlin, Lisa Frankenstein

Holly Waddington, Poor Things

Best Score

Alex G, I Saw the TV Glow

Tim Hecker, Infinity Pool

Mark Korven, The First Omen

Stephen McKeon, Evil Dead Rise

Naoki Satô, Godzilla Minus One

Best Documentary Feature

Dario Argento Panico

The Legacy of the Texas Chain Saw Massacre

Satan Wants You


We Kill for Love

Best Series


The Fall of the House of Usher

Interview With a Vampire

The Last of Us


Best Video Game

Alan Wake 2

Dead Space Remake

Killer Klowns from Outer Space: The Game

Resident Evil 4 Remake

The Texas Chain Saw Massacre

Best Non-Fiction Series or Miniseries

Amityville: An Origin Story

The Boulet Brothers’ Dragula: Season 5

The Enfield Poltergeist

The Last Drive-In With Joe Bob Briggs


As per previous years, the highly competitive “Best Kill” category is a write-in vote.

“Though the Fangoria Chainsaw Awards have been around for over 30 years, our current age of horror has delivered a high volume of next-level entertainment the likes of which fans have never seen,” Fangoria editor-in-chief Phil Nobile Jr. said in an official statement. “Fans will have their work cut out for them, as choosing the best of the best from this genre has truly never been more difficult — or more fun.”

Participants can cast their votes via the official Fangoria website at Voting polls close on July 20.

The post Fangoria Chainsaw Awards Nominees Include New Video Game Category | Exclusive appeared first on TheWrap.