Evans leads Rally of Finland as title-chasing Ogier fifth

·2-min read
Fast show: Elfyn Evans steers his Toyota into the lead in Finland (AFP/Jussi Nukari)

Elfyn Evans stormed into the lead of the Rally of Finland on Saturday as Sebastien Ogier, chasing an eighth world title, ended the day in fifth place.

Evans, behind the wheel of a Toyota, began the day in third place but swept four stages in the morning to take a firm grip on the event, widely regarded as the fastest on the circuit.

The Welsh flyer leads Hyundai's Ott Tanak, who took three stages in the afternoon, by 9.1sec.

That was enough for the Estonian to snatch second place from Irish teammate Craig Breen who is almost 20 seconds behind Evans.

"It was a good morning for us and I had a good feeling behind the wheel. We just tried to keep a good pace," said Evans.

Finland's Esapekka Lappi, in a private Toyota entry, is fourth with world champion Ogier, in another factory Toyota, at 1min 23.7sec off the pace.

Ogier was seventh at the start of the day but benefitted from the retirements of young Finnish teammate Kalle Rovanpera and Belgium's Thierry Neuville.

Four more stages will be raced on Sunday where Ogier will at least hope to collect points in the power stage before his next realistic chance of wrapping up the title comes in Spain later this month.

"The second loop was much better. Our set-up change was really beneficial for my confidence and my feeling, and our pace was quite OK," tweeted Ogier who started the rally with a 44-point championship lead over Evans and 50 ahead of Neuville.

"If you take the starting order into consideration, the afternoon wasn't so bad, it's going the right way. Now the last target is the power stage."


1. Elfyn Evans - Scott Martin (GBR/Toyota) 1 hr 57:46.7 mins, 2. Ott Tanak - Martin Järveoja (EST/Hyundai) at 9.1, 3. Craig Breen - Paul Nagle (IRL/Hyundai) 19.5, 4. Esapekka Lappi- Janne Ferm (FIN/Toyota) 44.8, 5. Sebastien Ogier - Julien Ingrassia (FRA/Toyota) 1:23.7, 6. Gus Greensmith - Chris Patterson (GBR-IRL/M-Sport Ford) 4:16.9, 7. Adrien Fourmaux - Alexandre Coria (FRA/Ford Fiesta) 5:31.5, 8. Teemu Sunninen-Mikko Markkula (FIN/Volkswagen/WRC2) 8:21.4

Stage winners: Evans 6 (SS6, SS7, SS8, SS9, SS10, SS14), Tanak 6 (SS3, SS4, SS11, SS12, SS13, SS15), Breen 2 (SS2, SS5), Katsuta 1 (SS1)

Retirements: Takamoto Katsuta - Aaron Johnston (JPN-IRL/Toyota), Kalle Rovanpera-Jonne Halttunen (FIN/Toyota), Thierry Neuville - Martijn Wydaeghe (BEL/Hyundai)


Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting