Eurovision 2023: How to watch this week’s semi-finals and grand final

It’s time to dust off your sequins – the Eurovision Song Contest is upon us once again!

This year, the annual celebration of Europe’s pop landscape is taking place in Liverpool, who are hosting on behalf of last year’s winners Ukraine.

Kalush Orchestra won the competition in 2022, but are unable to host due to their country’s ongoing war with Russia. The UK, who finished in runner-up position, stepped in to hold the competition, with Liverpool being named the host city.

The grand final airs on Saturday (13 May), but there’s plenty of coverage to get through first in Eurovision week.

This week, 31 countries must compete across the two semi-finals, with 20 making it through to Saturday night’s final.

In the first semi-final, the competing acts will be: Croatia, Ireland, Latvia, Malta, Norway, Portugal, Serbia, Azerbaijan, Czech Republic, Israel, Finland, Netherlands, Moldova, Sweden, Switzerland.

The line-up for semi-final two is: Armenia, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Iceland, Romania, Albania, Australia, Austria, Georgia, Lithuania, Poland, San Marino, Slovenia.

Eurovision is taking place in Liverpool this week (PA)
Eurovision is taking place in Liverpool this week (PA)

Those chosen will join the six countries who automatically have progressed to the final: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, and the UK (the “Big Five”) and last year’s winners Ukraine.

When are the Eurovision semi-finals?

Before the grand final, two live semi-finals will take place in Liverpool this week to determine which entrants will make it to the final.

The first semi-final takes place on Tuesday (9 May) and will air on BBC One at 8pm.

Two days later on Thursday (11 May), the second semi-final will be broadcast on BBC One at 8pm.

Both semi-finals will be hosted by Alesha Dixon, Julia Sanina and Hannah Waddingham, with Rylan and Scott Mills commentating.

When is the Eurovision final?

The final takes place on Saturday (13 May) and will also be broadcast on BBC One at 8pm.

It will feature the same presenting line-up, with Dixon, Sanina and Waddingham joined by Eurovision legend Graham Norton.

As well as co-hosting, Norton will also be providing his classic commentary for the show alongside Mel Giedroyc.