Erling Haaland and Sam Kerr win FWA Footballer of the Year awards

·2-min read

Manchester City striker Erling Haaland has been named Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association, following his record-breaking goalscoring exploits in his debut campaign at the club.

The FWA have also named Chelsea Women centre-forward Sam Kerr as the top player in the Women’s Super League, making the Australian the first player to win the award in consecutive seasons.

For Haaland, the award comes after hitting more than 50 goals across all competitions this season, including 35 in 32 Premier League appearances this term.

He took 82 per cent of all votes, with Arsenal pair Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard taking second and third respectively, some distance behind him.

The Norwegian’s strike rate has been a big part of the push back to the top of the table in the latter part of the season, with Man City now top by a point and with a game in hand over the Gunners, as they look to defend their league crown while also chashing FA Cup and Champions League glory too.

As for Kerr, her Chelsea side are one point off top spot in the WSL with three fixtures left to play - but with a game in hand on leaders Man United.

Kerr has ten goals in the WSL this term and 26 in 34 across all competitions and her side also face an FA Cup final, with Chelsea battling United for major honours there, too. The 29-year-old won the FWA Women’s Footballer of the Year award last year as part of a major haul which included the WSL Player of the Season, Goal of the Season, PFA Players’ Player award and Fans’ Player of the Year.

Teammate Fran Kirby had already won the FWA award twice, the only previous player to do so, but Kerr has now broken new ground by retaining it. Aston Villa’s Rachel Daly took second in this year’s award, with Chelsea’s Lauren James third.