BN MPs meet following rejection of PM's emergency proposal

Kow Gah Chie, B Nantha Kumar
·2-min read
BN MPs meet following rejection of PM's emergency proposal
BN MPs meet following rejection of PM's emergency proposal

BN has called its parliamentarians to meet this afternoon after the Yang di-Pertuan Agong rejected the proposal brought by Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin to declare a state of emergency.

"The meeting today is about everything," Deputy Communications and Multimedia Minister Zahidi Zainul Abidin (above) said when arriving to attend the meeting at Menara Dato Onn in Kuala Lumpur.

"We are having a meeting about the situation, the declaration (of emergency which was rejected by Agong) and what is the opinion (of BN). If any of us have any doubts, we can ask," he added.

BN will mainly discuss how to help the people who are affected by Covid-19 fallout, said Zahidi, who is the Padang Besar MP.

He also stressed that Umno is still with Muhyiddin at this stage as the Malay-based party will heed Agong's advice in not causing any political turmoil.

"Yes, we are still with Muhyiddin," he said.

Zahidi also disagreed with his colleague and Umno supreme council member Mohd Puad Zarkashi's call for Muhyiddin to resign after failing to get the consent from the ruler on the proposed state of emergency.

"(We) heard what the king said, so no political agenda," he said, adding that Umno could work out any differences that arise with Muhyiddin and Bersatu through a discussion.

Former prime minister Najib Abdul Razak, Umno veteran MP Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, Dewan Rakyat deputy speaker and Pengerang MP Azalina Othman Said and Pasir Salak MP Tajuddin Abdul Rahmad were also seen at the venue.

Umno president Ahmad Zahid Hamidi is expected to chair the party's supreme council meeting tonight.

Meanwhile, The Vibes reported that Umno supreme council member and Arau MP Shahidan Kassim mooted the meeting of BN MPs.

The meeting started at about 12.30pm without BN ministers who were attending a special cabinet meeting at the Prime Minister's Office this morning.

Several BN ministers were seen rushing to PWTC after the cabinet meeting concluded.

They were Energy and Natural Resources Minister Shamshul Nasarah, Federal Territories Minister Annuar Musa, Foreign Minister Hishammuddin Hussein, National Unity Minister Halimah Mohamed Sadique, Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Khairy Jamaluddin and Youth and Sports Minister Reezal Merican Naina Merican.