Anwar Ibrahim is Malaysia’s 10th Prime Minister

After what seemed like an endless loop of political uncertainty, Malaysia will finally have its 10th prime minister, putting an end to five days of ambiguity after Saturday’s general election, which resulted in no single coalition winning enough seats to form the government.

After two decades of being opposition leader, Pakatan Harapan chairman Anwar Ibrahim is set to be sworn in as PM at 5pm today, according to a statement by the Royal Palace.

The King, Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Riyatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, will perform the ceremony later today.

“After refining the views of His Highnesses, the Malay Kings, His Majesty has given his consent to appoint the Honorable Pate” Seri Anwar Bin Ibrahim (Member Parliament P.063 Tambun) as the 10th Prime Minister of Malaysia in accordance with His Majesty’s powers as provided in Article 40(2) (a) and Article 43 (2)(a) of the Federal Constitution,” the statement read

The King called for unity among all MPs to safeguard the future of the country.

“His Majesty stressed that the nation is a treasure that the various leaders are entrusted with. This treasure must be looked after because it will be passed on to the next generation.”

“The members of the Dewan Rakyat who have been elected by the people are also reminded to show solidarity by giving priority, high commitment, and the best service to the people.”

The last few days have been a rollercoaster for Malaysia, with political parties wanting to form a unity government to changing their minds within the next hour.

If you want to get caught up on all that, we detailed what transpired from Saturday until yesterday in this timeline here.

Explainer: Who will be Malaysia’s next top prime minister? Why we still don’t know 4 days after the election

Malaysians went to the polls last Saturday to vote in a new government in the 15th general election (or so they thought). Fast forward four days later – still no…

23 Nov 2022