Amanah keeps Dzulkefly Ahmad in Kuala Selangor, confirms Khalid Samad for Titiwangsa

Malay Mail
Malay Mail

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 30 — Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) today announced its parliamentary candidates for the 15th general election, including ex-health minister Datuk Seri Dzulkefly Ahmad for Kuala Selangor and incumbent Shah Alam MP Khalid Abdul Samad in Titiwangsa.

Dzulkefly will likely face caretaker finance minister Datuk Seri Tengku Zafrul Abdul Aziz who was rumoured to be eyeing the seat, while Khalid could meet former second finance minister Datuk Seri Johari Abdul Ghani who is said to be making a comeback.

In a press conference, Amanah deputy president Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub, who is also the new Johor Pakatan Harapan (PH) chief, announced several other seats including his seat in Pulai, Amanah president Mohamad Sabu for Kota Raja and party secretary-general Datuk Mohd Hatta Md Ramli for Lumut.

“For the state seats, we will give respective state division freedom to announce their candidates.

“Amanah will contest 54 parliamentary seats this general election under the PH banner,” he said.

This is an increase of 19 seats from the previous general election, most of which were those contested by Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia that abandoned the coalition in the Sheraton Move of 2020.

However, four incumbents including Mohamed Hanipa Maidin in Sepang and Mohd Anuar Mohd Tahir in Temerloh have been dropped.

When asked about the rationale for dropping them, Amanah information chief Khalid, who was present at the press conference, said it was to give way to new faces.

“This is the process that we went through, and those who are not contesting anymore it is to give way to new faces.

“It is not a portrayal of their bad performance, it is just transition and changes in seat that is needed for this general election,” said Khalid who is the party’s communications director, adding that Anuar was dropped due to health reasons.

The Sepang seat will be contested by Amanah Women wing chief Raj Munni Aiman Athirah while Temerloh will be Amanah Youth chief Mohd Hasbie Muda.

Other Amanah mainstays who will contest in the GE15 are Datuk Mahfuz Omar (Pokok Sena), Aminolhuda Hassan (Sri Gading), Datuk Seri Mujahid Yusof Rawa (Parit Buntar) and Raja Kamarul Bahrin Shah (Kuala Terengganu).