Alter Ego Celestè look to bag fifth-straight FSL VALORANT title at Open V

·Esports Content Producer
·3-min read
(Image: FSL)
(Image: FSL)

Four-time 2021 FSL VALORANT Circuit champions Alter Ego Celestè will be looking to claim their fifth-straight title in the circuit as they headline the list of eight teams that qualified for the VALORANT Champions Tour (VCT) Game Changers SEA: FSL VALORANT Open V playoffs, which kick off on Thursday (29 July).

Joining Alter Ego Celestè are four of the playoff teams from the previous circuit's previous Open tournament — Galaxy Racer, Kid Mai Ork, Asteria, and Aricat Aresta; as well as Magnifique, Hashira SR, and Renatus White.

Those eight teams qualified for the FSL VALORANT Open V playoffs after surviving the tournament's group stage from 19 to 21 July. The group stage saw the 55 participating teams drawn into four groups of 12 teams each competing in a 'GSL' format, double-elimination bracket with best-of-one matches. The two teams that emerged victorious from each group's upper and lower brackets will qualify for the playoffs.

Alter Ego Celestè and Aricat Aresta qualified from Group A, Galaxy Racer and Hashira SR survived Group B, while Kid Mai Ork and Asteria came from Group C. Meanwhile, Renatus White and Magnifique notably overcame Open IV runners-up Oasis Gaming Aqua to qualify for the playoffs from Group D.

The FSL VALORANT Open V playoffs, scheduled from 29 July to 1 August, will follow a double-elimination format where all matches will be a best-of-three except for the grand finals, which will be a full best-of-five series.

Tournament favourites Alter Ego Celestè will open the playoffs by taking on Magnifique, followed by the match between Kid Mai Ork and Hashira SR, then a showdown between Galaxy Racer and Asteria, and with the Renatus White-versus-Aricat Aresta match rounding out the first round.

The eight teams in the playoffs will be fighting for their cut of the US$5,000 prize pool, with all teams guaranteed at least US$150 in winnings, and points to get on the FSL Open Leaderboard. The champions will claim the lion's share of US$1,500 and 10 FSL Circuit points.

FSL recently partnered with VALORANT developer Riot Games to expand the 2021 FSL VALORANT Circuit into the VALORANT Champions Tour (VCT) Game Changers Southeast Asia series.

The series will have four stages, starting with the FSL Open, a monthly open group stage tournament where the top eight teams will earn points for the FSL Open Leaderboard. The top three teams in the leaderboard will then qualify for FSL Elite.

The next stage is the FSL Open Overtime in September, where teams that finished 4th to 19th on the leaderboard will compete for three qualifying spots to FSL Elite. This is followed by the FSL Wildcard, which is open to teams who have not qualified for the FSL Elite, or teams new to the circuit. The top two teams will earn a spot for FSL Elite.

Finally, the FSL Elite, which is currently scheduled for October, will see the eight teams that have qualified play for a prize pool of US$25,000. The last team standing at FSL Elite will claim the grand prize of US$10,000 and the title of VCT Game Changers Southeast Asia champions.

For more esports news updates, visit and check out Yahoo Esports Southeast Asia’s Facebook page and Twitter.

Watch videos on Yahoo:

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting