Abang Johari says waiting for Insolvency Dept and police to vet GPS election candidates

Malay Mail
Malay Mail

KUCHING, Oct 30 — Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) is close to finalising its list of candidates contesting 31 parliamentary seats in the 15th general election, its chairman Tan Sri Abang Johari Openg said today.

He said it is a matter of picking candidates for one or two seats before he makes the announcement on November 3.

He said he is waiting for the clearance from the Department of Insolvency and the police on the backgrounds of the potential candidates.

“I have only received the clearance from MACC,” he told reporters after launching the GPS Women election machinery at Penview Convention Centre in Bako.

MACC refers to the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission.

He said GPS has not asked the Sarawak Religious Affairs Department to clear the names of the candidates as it is not relevant.

“In the peninsula, asking the religious department to clear the names of the candidates may be relevant, because many of them have gone to Thailand,” he said in jest.

Earlier in his speech, Abang Johari urged GPS members to maintain the winning spirit and carry the momentum of last year’s state election to the coming general election.

“If we maintain the same spirit, solidly united, there is no reason why we cannot do well or even winning all the 31 seats,” he said.

“If we work hard within the two-week campaign period, God willing, we will win all the 31 seats,” he said.

He also told GPS members to set aside their personal interests and other problems so they can win all the seats.

He said if GPS can win all the 31 seats, Sarawak can then determine who will be the next prime minister after the general election, in the event that none of the political coalitions in peninsular Malaysia securing majority seats to form the next federal government on its own.

Among those present at the launching were Deputy Premier Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah, Parti Rakyat Sarawak president Datuk Joseph Salang and GPS secretary-general Datuk Alexander Nanta Linggi.