7 Fresh Ways to Style Your Suit for Spring

Photos by ​Oriana Layendecker; Text: Chelsey Sanchez; Styling by Tennille Yamashita
Photo credit: Oriana Layendecker

From Harper's BAZAAR

Much has changed in the last century since Coco Chanel feminized the suit. Like so many other things fought for and claimed by women (voting, working, having one's own bank account), the once abominable and impossible became the standard. The suit, in other words, has become a fixed runway staple for the womenswear collection.

Because the wardrobe essential has endured the volatile landscape of fashion trends, the ways in which to wear and style the suit shift with the seasons. Silhouettes change. Fads die and are resurrected. From Chanel's epochal tweed uniforms to the flamboyant big shoulders of the '80s, there's always room to innovate when it comes to suiting up.

So for the impending spring, we've unearthed seven fresh ways to dust off this sartorial classic. Read on for serious suit supply.

Tweed Makes a Comeback

Photo credit: Oriana Layendecker

Above: Chanel, jacket, $7,650, shorts, $3,100, pullover, $3,850, chanel.com; Maryam Nassir Zadeh, boots, $842, mnzstore.com.

Florals for Spring Can be Groundbreaking

Photo credit: Oriana Layendecker

Above: Jacquemus, blazer, $1,011, trousers, $539, jacquemus.com; LALAoUNIS, earring, $7,800, experiencememo.com.

Move Aside, Skirt Suits—Short Suits Are the Next Big Thing

Photo credit: Oriana Layendecker
Photo credit: Oriana Layendecker

Above: Salvatore Ferragamo, blazer, shirt, shorts, price upon request, salvatoreferragamo.com; SarahTejada, handbag, $360, sarahtejada.com.

For the Office and the Club

Photo credit: Oriana Layendecker
Photo credit: Oriana Layendecker

Above: Marina Moscone, blazer, $2,450, marinamoscone.com; Gabriela Hearst, pants, $1,990, gabrielahearst.com; Alexander McQueen, belt bag, $1,290, alexandermcqueen.com.

Blending In to Stand Out

Photo credit: Oriana Layendecker

Above: Alberta Ferretti, blazer, $1,595, trousers, $950, top, $550, fwrd.com.

Sheers to Mixing and Matching Materials

Photo credit: Oriana Layendecker
Photo credit: Oriana Layendecker

Above: Sally LaPointe, blazer dress, $3,150, mesh pant, $490, sallylapointe.com; Jennifer Fisher, earrings, $550, jenniferfisher.com; Brother Vellies, sandals, $465, brothervellies.com.

Monochrome with Intention

Photo credit: Oriana Layendecker
Photo credit: Oriana Layendecker

Above: Zimmermann, oversized jacket, $1,150, belted pant, $695; Jonathan Simkhai, crochet bralette, $165, jonathansimkhai.com; Anita Ko, single row ear cuff, $500, baguette ear cuff, $1,425, loop earring, $3,450, anitako.com; Chanel, sandals, $1,250, chanel.com.

You Might Also Like