2 Wallabies on 4-man list for World Rugby's best player

·1-min read

DUBLIN (AP) — Two Australians feature on a four-man shortlist for World Rugby's player of the year award.

Australia captain Michael Hooper and teammate Samu Kerevi were joined by England lock Maro Itoje and scrumhalf Antoine Dupont, the first Frenchman nominated since 2012.

The announcements on Monday marked the first time since 2004 that New Zealand, which won the Rugby Championship, failed to have a player nominated. World champion South Africa has no one on the shortlist, either, despite the team winning the series against the British and Irish Lions.

The shortlist for the women's player of the year is all first-time nominees: Zoe Aldcroft and Poppy Cleall from the England pack and Caroline Boujard and Laure Sansus from the France backline.

The winners will be decided by a fan vote and announced in the week of Dec. 6.


More AP rugby: https://apnews.com/hub/rugby and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting